Skip to content

That Thang

November 6, 2010
I read two great articles this morning: one from CrazySexyLife about finding more energy by using your gifts and passions, and one from Marc & Angel Hack Life about making life simpler. The message really resonated with me, because more and more these days I am feeling bogged down by things I really can’t stand doing. It’s exhausting and painful to be learning things that I find boring and not having any time to do the things I find exhilarating. Just something to think about, I guess: “If you hate doing something, stop it.”

 

So in an attempt to ebb the dull numbness that comes with not being able to exercise my creative spirit, I have decided to take a break from organic chemistry (despite the hoards of other org chem students around me studying their brains out) and do something mildly my own. It’s not particularly creative, but it exercises those parts of my brain a little bit (doing Set problems and playing Word Bubbles helps too!). I got this fun thing from one of my friends & ex-coworkers, Leah on Facebook, and decided to do it here. Normally you’re supposed to post one photo a day, but I don’t want my blog to become inundated with these types of posts, so instead I’m going to do it all in one post!
Enjoy!
Day 01 – A picture of yourself with fifteen facts
  1. I love bright colours
  2. My favourite thing to do when procrastinating is ogle food blogs

  3. If I get less than 8 hours of sleep, bad things happen
  4. Like Hamlet, my tragic flaw is over thinking everything.
  5. I never do anything to my hair. Ever. My hairdresser begs me to blow dry it but I refuse. Rawr!
  6. I love to go grocery shopping
  7. I’m a homebody of epic proportions: give me food and a movie and I am happy as Larry!
  8. I don’t believe in saying you like pretentious movies just to sound cool. My favourite movie is Ratatouille, straight up. Followed by The Mummy.

  9. I don’t like copycats.
  10. I have a lot of faith in people. And I believe that people really do change, because I’ve seen it and I’ve done it.
  11. I ♥ reading. Forever and always.

  12. I have the best friends in the world. We are so close, and no subject is ever off limits.

  13. I watch movie trailers obsessively, but rarely go see the movies :S
  14. I have a plant named Tiger
  15. I love this blog as if it were my child

Day 02 – A picture of you and the person(s) you have been closest with the longest

Day 03 – A picture of the cast from your favorite show

Day 04 – A picture of your night

Day 05 – A picture of your favorite memory

 

One of my all-time favourite memories is being a Voyageur captain at camp! :)

Day 06 – A picture of a person you’d love to trade places with for a day

 

Day 07 – A picture of your most treasured item
D90!

Day 08 – A picture that makes you laugh

Day 09 – A picture of the person who has gotten you through the most

Day 10 – A picture of the person you do the most messed up things with

Day 11 – A picture of something you hate

I hate mold, but I refuse to litter my blog with disgusting pictures.

Day 12 – A picture of something you love

My pets

 

Day 13 – A picture of your favorite band or artist

I wouldn't say favourite, but I like her a lot :)

 

Day 14 – A picture of something you could never imagine your life without

Day 15 – A picture of something you want to do before you die

Day 16 – A picture of someone who inspires you

Kris Carr

 

Day 17 – A picture of something that has made a huge impact on your life recently

Day 18 – A picture of your biggest insecurity

I'm not really that insecure about it, but my feet are awfully big! I used to be a lot more insecure about my feet, but not so much anymore :)

 

Day 19 – A picture and a letter
Dear Lion: You are big and awesome. I wish that you were not aggressive and that we could be pals, because you would give the bestest hugs in the whole world. You could just chill on your rock doing lion-y things, and I’d just chill beside you eating potato chips and reading. You could eat red meat. I wouldn’t even care, our eating habits wouldn’t come between us. Lion, I’m thinking I could even travel back to Africa from whence you came with you and you could introduce me to your fam! We could hunt some antelope. Well, I’ll take photos, you can hunt. Anyways. I really wish you were tame and stuff, and wouldn’t rip my eyes out if I tried to hug you. You look really nice though so I feel like we could be friends. Let me know! Yours, effieboo.

Day 20 – A picture of somewhere you’d love to travel

Thailand..and the rest of the world

 

Day 21 – A picture of something you wish you could forget

No regrets!

Day 22 – A picture of something you wish you were better at

Guitar!

 

Day 23 – A picture of your favorite book

So far, it's Cloud Atlas

 

Day 24 – A picture of something you wish you could change

Day 25 – A picture of your day

All I've done is grocery shop, play my guitar and read!

 

Day 26 – A picture of something that means a lot to you

Day 27 – A picture of yourself and a family member

Day 28 – A picture of something you’re afraid of
Eels/lampreys. But again, there is NO WAY I am posting a picture of either of those on here.

Day 29 – A picture that can always make you smile

Hahahaha makes me laugh every time.

Day 30 – A picture of someone you miss

I miss my whole famjam!

 

Well that was fun, although very time consuming! I guess that’s why it’s meant to be done over a whole month.. haha. Anyways, time to go make some hot and sour soup!! See you guys soon.
xoxo,
6 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    November 6, 2010 9:12 PM

    LMAO is the “someone you can’t live without” your computer?

    • November 7, 2010 3:39 PM

      ha! sorry I misread it, I thought it said ‘something’.. :)

  2. November 8, 2010 5:44 AM

    Cloud atlas! Good call!

    (and yes, don’t forget that Pd/H2 always delivers hydrogen syn to a double bond)

    • November 8, 2010 11:59 AM

      Awesome!! I didn’t forget on the exam, don’t worry. Ps, I love your site, I will definitely be reading it before the final! Thanks :) and yeah Cloud Atlas rocks.

  3. Gia permalink
    November 11, 2010 9:58 PM

    That was so cute to go through! I might have to take inspiration from you one of these days…. :)

    • November 11, 2010 11:00 PM

      Awe thank you! And please do, I’d love to read your version! :)

Leave a Reply

