Skip to content

Happy Halloween! + What to Do Before Fall is Over!

October 31, 2010

Happy Halloween!

I know I’ve been missing in action yet again, but I wanted to check in quickly (from my new home: the library) to wish you all a very Happy Halloween!

Halloween brings back tons of memories for me: everything from tottering around in pumpkin costumes at age 4 and being brought home in my wagon, to dancing around to the Monster Mash and handing out candy with my Mom at age 18. I’ve been lots of fabulous things for Halloween:

  • Pepsi can
  • Cowgirl
  • Princess
  • Pocahontas (later my doggie also sported this costume)
  • Marilyn Monroe
  • WW2 nurse
  • and most recently a girl scout!

To me, there is nothing more fun than dressing up and going trick-or-treating. I adore Halloween!

I wish that this year I would have been able to celebrate it more fully, but I have 3 midterms looming malevolently over my head, making sure that I stay in the library for hours on end, studying studying studying. The highlights of my day today have been a friend creating a new blog (more on that later), and buying a head massager at Chapters on my dinner break (gosh, that makes it sound like I’m actually getting paid for this..which I’m not!). Have you guys used a head massager before? Honestly it is heaven. HEAVEN. I don’t even care if fellow library-goers look at me weird, I will wield it!

How was your Halloween weekend? What did you dress up as? What did you do!

I really would love to hear about it. I have to live vicariously through you, after all! I managed to get out to one fairly epic party, but I wish I could have carved pumpkins and gone trick-or-treating and eaten candy curled up in bed watching horror movies..

..Ooh, here are some cool Halloweeny links that I loved! They distracted me from the fact that I wasn’t able to do more this wonderful Halloween weekend:

Days of the Dead by the Boston Globe

The Widow of the Manor by Gala Darling

Whatever Happened to Baby Jane by Sea of Shoes

.

Before Autumn Ends..

The fact that Halloween is here means that Fall is almost over: in fact, it snowed yesterday!! That was depressing in some ways, but I must admit it sparked some daydreams about cozy Sundays curled up with hot cocoa and ice skating on Mont Royal. But it also kicked me into gear regarding the end of Fall! There are so many things I want to do before a blanket of snow covers the ground:

  • Rent bikes and go for a long bike ride
  • Make an apple pie
  • Carve a pumpkin (is it too late for this!?)
  • Make some homemade cinnamon rolls..or Pilsbury ones!
  • Play in the leaves..
  • Make some caramel apples
  • Stock up on Halloween candy
  • Drink apple cider
  • Have breakfast for dinner
  • Go to a coffee shop and read a novel for a few hours
  • Eat lots of soup. Lots.
  • Have a seasonal Starbucks drink
  • Cook a really elaborate meal..or 3
  • Go on long walks up the mountain
  • Order in food and watch movies all day
  • Have a sleepover with my girlies
  • etc, etc!

What do you guys want to do before the end of Fall?

Alright, that’s enough for now. Back to the grind!

xoxo,

One Comment leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    November 1, 2010 1:24 AM

    Wow you’re lucky its still fall weather over where you are, I love fall. But everything here is still covered in snow and in negative temps :(

Leave a Reply

