Skip to content

Juliette et Chocolat

September 28, 2010

Here in Montreal, we are lucky enough to have a slew of amazing restaurants, cafés, libraries, museums and stores. We have a plethora of amazing locales for everything from studying to dates to booze-filled dance adventures. And most tend to be within walking distance, since we live in the heart of the city. How lucky we are!

Ah, but it gets better.

You see, we also happen to have the best type of restaurant in existence. Yes people, I’m talking about the gourmet chocolate restaurant. It’s called Juliette et Chocolat and it has several locations peppered throughout the city, including one right around the corner from our apartment.What is it exactly? Only a restaurant where every single thing on the menu is chocolate related! No big deal or anything..or anything..

So last week, when my roommate was in the throes of relationship angst, I came home to find her on the couch with a bottle of wine and an episode of How I Met Your Mother. She was in a right sorry state. It was sad. I had been planning to be in for the night, and changed promptly into my pjs and glasses to settle in like the good little homebody I am. When all of a sudden, from the other room:

“…I wanna go to Juliette et Chocolat” (but a good deal more slurred).

“Ooh”, I said, “me too!”

There was a brief pause.

“You wanna go?”

Pause.

“YES!”

Then, in a superhuman flurry of excitement, I changed from boxer shorts to tights, long-sleeved shirt to cute dress & blazer, slapped on a headband, and did my makeup. It took approximately 3 minutes. Then I downed what was left of the bottle of wine (not a hell of a lot) and we scooted out in record time!

While we waited in line (it was Saturday night, after all) we gossiped about (what else?) boys and their utter stupidity, school, and the chocolate we were preparing to consume. But mostly boys and their utter stupidity. Once inside, not much changed, except for the lovely, softly-lit lighting, the rustic wood-planked tables, and the nosy people sitting next to us listening to our conversation..

Oh! And we had chocolate! Yeah, that was probably the best part. Ready to get jealous?

We ordered a duo fondue for two: milk and white chocolate of the finest quality, surrounded by delicious fruit! There weren’t enough strawberries for my liking, but there were enough bananas, oranges, apples, grapes, pears, kiwi and pineapple to make up for it. :) Here are some photos of us loving life!!


{this is only one side of the delectable menu..}

{one photo to convey the lovely orangey ambience of the restaurant..}

{and one photo to show you the actual colour of the delicious chocolate!}

{digging in..it pained me to put down my skewer and take this picture.}

{just one of the many cases full of treats: brownies, bonbons, truffles, heaven}

{such an adorable place}

We will definitely be returning, ASAP. I didn’t even get to try their famous hot chocolates! Or their truffles! Or their brownie + homemade ice cream! No, there will definitely be another trip, but quick.

Tell me: any amazing little places in your city?

xoxo,



4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2010 10:32 PM

    These pictures warmed my poor, over-homeworked heart :) That place looks awesome! I don’t know if we have any cool places like that around here (read: does not have driver’s license). But I certainly hope so :)

    • September 30, 2010 10:33 AM

      Definitely look into it, because you wouldn’t want to miss out on something like this!!

  2. Laura permalink
    September 30, 2010 6:18 PM

    Omg. Give me 2.5 hours and meet me at that restaurant!

Leave a Reply

