Skip to content

Restless Tonight

September 18, 2010
Cover of "Gone with the Wind"

Cover of Gone with the Wind

Hola senoritas y senors! Como estas? Muy bien!

Yo soy bueno.

My Spanish is terrible.

So. I may or may not be sitting in my apartment, reading Gone With the Wind, eating leftover McDonald’s McFlurry with a smidgen of freezer burn, neglecting my homework, dressed in pyjamas that have penguins on them.

Huh.

Well, while we’re all here and just having a blast and a half, why don’t I tell you what I think. You know, about the world. And stuff.

I have come to really like Wes Anderson movies, in exactly the right amount of time. You know, that space of time between when the hipsters like something and the rest of the world catches up?  I bow to you hipsters, although I don’t envy the amount of time and effort it must take to keep up with the up-and-coming cult-like music and movies. I would much rather let you do the legwork and not have the glory of being a superstar cultural hipster extraordinaire. I feel like I’ll survive without that title.

I want a Kindle and someone should give one to me this instant. I don’t care what you people say, I can think of at least seven situations where a Kindle would be useful as hell and that’s plenty enough reasons for me! It’s gotten to the point where I literally sometimes just open up the Kindle webpage and re-read all the info and daydream about obtaining one. How many days are there until Christmas again?

I can tell you how many days there are before Thanksgiving though: 22. WHAT??
I do love Thanksgiving. I like pie. I generally only get pie at a few choice occasions a year; although, hell, I own an oven now (!) and a pie plate (!) and I’m sure the grocery store sells that sweet-as-sin sugary-as-hell cherry pie filling stuff. Which sometimes I just eat, on its own. Ew? Yeah, sort of. Who cares though, right? To each their own. To me, more pie. Holla holla.

I got a package in the mail today from my mother. It contained 1 note, 1 Softlips Organic lip balm in pomegranate and 1 bag Bassett Sherbet Lemons direct import from London, UK! Is there any better feeling than receiving a package? I actually don’t think so. Nothing makes me happier. Except maybe pie. Love you mom!

Should I be doing my readings?

How many people here had a Planet Pop CD when they were younger? How many still have the music on their iPods? How many secretly jam out so hard when a choice few of those songs come on shuffle? Yo, same! It’s like childhood, unleashed.

I just yawned. It is exactly 9:53 pm. I just yawned again after reading the word “yawn”. Wanna know why? Damn, I love to yawn. Are you yawning yet? YAWN!! I have now yawned six times in two minutes. I’m not even tired damnit!

You should start a blog. Whoever you are. I would read it. I really would. I feel like everyone has so many thoughts all piled up in their heads and nowhere to express them. Who cares if no one reads it (except me)? Since when is our only goal in life success and recognition? Maybe the goal should be self-expression and growth! Write your little hearts out people.

Speaking of which, maybe I should do that Nanowrimo project thingy in November. I seriously doubt I’ll have enough time but of course I love a challenge. Wouldn’t it be so fun?! I’m trying to think if I could devote all my spare time to writing a novel. Am I that much of an old lady yet? That question requires time and careful thought. I’d be so amazed if I could do it though!

I am almost 2/5ths done Gone with the Wind and loving life, a lot.

Lalalalalala.

Have pleasant evenings! I’m off to run around my tiny apartment getting all these restless heebeejeebies out of my system. Ejkhasdlkfjha! Eureka!

I may not be doing my Perception reading at this point in time. No, probably not. Oops!

That’s all folks!

xoxo, eff-boo. (ma new gangsta name)


24 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2010 10:56 PM

    You should do NaNoWriMo! It’s super fun :D

    • September 18, 2010 10:59 PM

      Have you done it!! Tell me about it, how did you survive?? :) I signed up two seconds after posting this, I hope I can do it!

      • September 19, 2010 10:00 AM

        I almost didn’t survive! It was crazy madness; my younger and my older sister were doing it with me. We were up writing until all hours of the night and I admit I fell asleep in Chemistry once or twice :) But it was awesome and you’ll have a ton of fun!

        • September 19, 2010 11:08 AM

          That sounds amazing though! Maybe I should recruit some friends to be crazy with me :) Are you doing it again this year??

  2. David Brauer permalink
    September 18, 2010 11:48 PM

    I would highly suggest NaNoWriMo. I did it last year. It’s not too difficult, though I was in high school then.

    • September 19, 2010 11:05 AM

      I definitely signed up last night!! I am excited, but nervous :|

  3. September 19, 2010 1:07 AM

    About eReaders– What are your seven reasons to get one?

    • September 19, 2010 11:07 AM

      Alright, this might not be the most original answer but it will do for now (until I get my Kindle and write a blog post gushing about it muahahaha)! Check out this post by The Trephine – it gets me all excited about ereaders! And my main reason for getting one would just be convenience and portability – I’m reading Gone With the Wind and it is a hefty book to cart around! :)

  4. September 19, 2010 10:38 AM

    Too much coffeine? Great random blog :D.

    • September 19, 2010 11:07 AM

      Haha nope not even coffee (I don’t drink it!) I was just restless and crazy! :)

  5. September 19, 2010 3:52 PM

    Nanowrimo is great, you really should do it. I didn’t make the 50 000 but then again, i started two weeks late :P Good luck!

  6. September 19, 2010 9:10 PM

    I’m definitely doing it this year and going crazy waiting for November to get here! I’ve been tensely awaiting its arrival since Dember 1st of last year :)

    • September 19, 2010 11:16 PM

      I love your enthusiasm! I am getting really, really, tentatively excited about it – I hope I can pull it off! :)

  7. Samantha Feldman permalink
    September 19, 2010 11:52 PM

    The parallels between what you express on your blog and how I feel about the little things in life are numerous. I don’t know how you do it effieboo but your blog makes me smile daily.
    Yes, I do frequent your blog on a day to day basis. Time for you to blush.
    Ah, there we go.
    Your biggest fan.

    • September 20, 2010 10:23 AM

      I’m blushing… :) I’m so glad you like it Sam. see you demain! xo

  8. September 20, 2010 12:37 AM

    Hey I’ve been following your blog for sometime now and I absolutely love it! Especially all the tips for freshmen (or frosh as we’re called here). This blog has been just so helpful when packing and calming down my nerves before move-in day haha!
    And I too am dying for a Kindle! I love books. I love technology. I love convenience. That’s my rationale for a kindle hahaha.
    Here’s a link to my blog, I really haven’t shared it with anyone other than my brother because I’ve been really bad at updating often but that shall soon change! I feel like when you say send me a link to your blog, you’re talking to me so here goes: http://www.carpelajour.wordpress.com. It’s not great and hopefully I’m going to start keeping up with it. I’m currently experimenting with different themes, so if you ever do have time, please do check out and give me tips and suggestions or just comments on what you think of the blog.
    Enough with the essay now :P
    Just to reiterate, your blog’s awesome!

    • September 20, 2010 10:25 AM

      Hello hello! I am so happy that my blog could be helpful to you when you were getting ready for university – that was definitely one of the most stressful times in my life too! I checked out your blog, I really like it! I’d love some more info on who you are/what you do and of course keep updating!! I especially liked your tangential conversation post..even though I detest calculus. :) I think you have some wonderful ideas and I’d love to read more. And thanks for the compliments of the blog, I love it with my whole heart and try my best with it. :) xo

  9. Lies permalink
    September 20, 2010 4:41 PM

    Anybody told you you’re crazy? Cause you are. But I’ll slip Santa a note about the Kindle ;) (I’m currently in Sweden, so I’m close.) And good luck with NaNoWriMo! I don’t think I’ll join, I’m on holidays the first two weeks of November… and I don’t see me pulling it off in 2 weeks :). Keep up the crazy blogging!

    • September 20, 2010 8:05 PM

      I might be a little crazy, who knows!? ;) And I’d be much obliged if you’d let Santa know!! haha

  10. September 20, 2010 5:42 PM

    Hi Effiboo! I’ve been following your blogs for.. About a week now, haha. I don’t usually comment on blogs, but it seems like you really take the time to respond to the ones you get. So here’s my comment!

    NanoWrimo is amazing. And it’s so much easier if you have someone doing it with you. My friend and I have done it since 7th grade, we used to have contests to see who was writing the fastest. At the end, we’d swap Nanos and read each other’s stories.
    Another tip: Don’t expect perfection!! That was one of my biggest issues. I’d feel defeated by a boring plot and eventually give up before hitting 50k. It was fun while I did it, but so frustrating at the same time.
    Also don’t let it interfere too much with your school. You’re paying for those classes, there’s no point in failing them so you can hit 50k. (A lesson my friend learned the hard way.)

    As far as an ereader goes.. I heard there are some that, when your outside, you can’t see the screen. Like some cell phones. So just make sure you look in to which ever one you buy.. And I’d love to hear your opinion on it! The article you linked darn-near convinced me to get one, I’m sure one form you would push me to order one :)

    • September 20, 2010 8:09 PM

      Hellohello! Yes, not to worry I almost always respond to comments since I adore getting them!! I love your feedback on NaNoWriMo – I still haven’t completely decided if I’m going to do it, because like you say I have lots of schoolwork of course, but I am definitely thinking about it seriously. I will have to find someone to do it with me! And I was wary of the screens of ereaders when outside, but the Kindle website is fairly adamant that you can easily read in the sun without glare because the screen is built to look like the page of a book! I am very excited about the possibility of getting one – and I will definitely post about it when/if I do! :)

      • September 24, 2010 12:03 AM

        If you get bored and want to read more on my take of NanoWriMo, feel free to hop over to my page. I do a ‘Theme Thursday’ and dedicated today’s post to Nano. Warning: It’s rather lengthy.

        If you happen to stop by, thank you for the view :)

        (I also linked to your page. I adore your blog!)

        • September 24, 2010 4:39 PM

          I read it! It’s so useful and I’m going to comment on it right now in case you don’t see this..

Leave a Reply

