Skip to content

French Onion Soup For Fall

September 15, 2010

Yo! Fall associations! Let’s go!

Apple picking, jumping on hay bales, raking leaves, baking excessively, back-to-school, tights, curling up, books, tea with honey, making apple sauce, sweaters, boots, soup.

SOUP.

Sweet goodness in a bowl. Soul food.

French onion soup is my most recent fall association. Welcome to the club, french onion soup! Glad to have you. No, really. I am ecstatic to have you here. Have you ever been told how amazing you are? Because you’re amazing. So good.

I would like to say that I am enlightened and eat clean, whole food. In fact though, I eat a lot of yummy ‘soul’ food. Not to say that these two categories are mutually exclusive, but in the fall I become more attracted to traditional comfort food. That means a lot of carbs. I try to eat complex carbs. It doesn’t always work. WHATEVER. Anyways, the point is that french onion soup is something really special, and guess what? It’s easy. It’s sooo easy. Do it this weekend! I can practically smell the onions already..

Start with protective measures..

That would be two types of glasses, yes. You’re going to be chopping a massive amount of onions. Great.

The onion chopping is the only hard part of the whole recipe!!

I dislike cooking with an exact recipe, so I created my own little mishmash of these two great recipes found here and here. If you prefer to have a strict recipe, following either one of those would produce a wonderful soup, I’m sure. I’ll tell you what I did though, in case you want to do it my way :)

French Onion Soup a la effieboo!

  • 6-7 yellow onions, of the smallish variety
  • 2 cubes Knorr vegetable broth-maker (what is the correct name for this?! I am too lazy to go look in the pantry)
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • Salt & pepper
  • Balsamic vinegar
  • Brown sugar
  • French bread
  • Gruyere cheese, sliced thinly

1.     Chop up 6-7 small/medium yellow onions, into thinnish slices (it doesn’t really matter, they’ll all cook down so small anyways!)

2.     Put them into a large pot with a few good dollops of olive oil, on medium heat. Let them sweat for about 15 minutes, or until they get soft and juicy :)

3.     Add in 3 cloves of garlic, chopped, about 3 tbsp of brown sugar (more or less depending on the amount of onions used), 2 chugs of balsamic vinegar, salt and pepper. Let this mixture cook, on very low heat for as long as you possibly can! Hours, if possible. Check every once in a while that the onions aren’t sticking to the pan, but the mixture will probably too juicy for that to happen. Let it go as long as you possibly can! Go do homework!

4.     Add in 4 cups of vegetable broth (make from cubes: boil the water in the microwave, then stir in the cubes until you get broth) and 1 cup of water. Bring the soup to a boil, then simmer for about 20 minutes.

Just because it doesn't look like much doesn't mean it doesn't taste like much!!

5.     Chop up rounds of French bread, one for each bowl. Cut each round into four, and space them out slightly on a cookie sheet. Drape 2 slices of Gruyere onto the top of the bread and put under the broiler for about 1 minute, check often! The broiler is insanely hot, apparently. Ha! (this is a preferable method to the traditional way, since we didn’t have ovenproof bowls and also, my mom says it’s impossible to get the crusted cheese off the bowls!!)

6.     Ladle the soup into bowls, use a spatula to pick up the bread/cheese mess and put it into the bowls! Serve immediately!! YUMMMM. Bon apetit.

I served this to my roommate on Sunday and this was the extent of our dinner conversation:

Apoorva: oh my gosh

Me: oh my gosh

Apoorva: this is so good. This is so good.

Me: This is so good!

Apoorva: my soul is happy!

Me: I feel nourished!

Apoorva: oh my gosh.

Me: oh my gosh.

…etc.

The soup is oniony and hot, the cheese and bread complement it perfectly, the whole mess is amazing in your mouth. I can’t wait to make this every week lots of times this year! Enjoy!!

Oh and Happy Fall everyone!

xoxo,

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2010 8:03 PM

    I was looking to see if anyone else happened to blog about soup for fall today and I found your post :) Before I passed the onion cutting duty to my boyfriend, I use to wear big sunglasses to shield my eyes too!

    • September 15, 2010 8:27 PM

      Aw rats! I knew there was a good reason to have a boyfriend! ;) And I checked out your black bean soup – that sounds amazing! I’ll have to try it sometime. :)

  2. Isabelle permalink
    September 15, 2010 11:14 PM

    I hope I find a roommate who will cook me wonderful food! :p

Leave a Reply

