Skip to content

Culture Shock 27/07/10

July 27, 2010

Hey! It’s back. That pesky little feature that didn’t want to be written these last several weeks is finally striking out fiercely, ready to be read. Here we go again..

The Article

The Story of Cosmetics

This post from Crazy Sexy Life promotes the new ‘Story of Cosmetics’ video that is circling the internet at rapid speed [it’s also profiled here on Splendora]. A succinct video which makes its point, and makes it well. Whenever I hear more background information on things like this (cosmetics, food, clothing..) and become aware that no there aren’t any regulatory laws and no there is nobody making sure what we consume is actually safe, it makes me very sad and very disappointed. But seeing campaigns like this make me joyous! We are making leaps and bounds in the right direction. I strongly encourage you to watch the whole video, visit the website, download the pdf of safe cosmetics companies, and try to step towards better choices and better health.

The Song

Teqkilla – M.I.A. ft. Nicki Manaj

This song off her new album /\/\/\Y/\ (Maya) is very catchy. Like, M.I.A. catchy. As in, Paper Planes catchy (well, almost, nothing could really top that). If you don’t want to download the album on iTunes, you can sample it here (just scroll down). It doesn’t seem to be on Youtube anywhere, so all I can give you is a sample, sorry! Also, if you can get your hands on the July copy of Rolling Stone, make sure you read the wonderful profile of M.I.A. inside. XXXO and Born Free are also very, very good.

The Website

Green Kitchen Stories

"I wanna make a chocolate shake!" - The Avocados

A delightful family trying to eat healthier and happier, with beautiful photography and yummy looking recipes. I am dying to make their raw chocolate shake!

The Book

Well now. I’ve read several books in this past week or so, on all sorts of different subjects, so it’s hard to choose just one! Alright then, I’ll choose two. The first I’ve already written about over at my other blog, The Book Club. Read about Cloud Atlas here.

The second one I’ll feature is The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley (from t.dot people!), a creative and enchanting mystery story told from the narrative of an eleven year old. Yep, she’s eleven! Flavia de Luce is a sleuth who is, admittedly, way more badass than Nancy Drew was. Well, an eleven year old Nancy Drew anyway (I love that girl..). Anyways, the story centers around a murder on her house’s property and her mission to solve the case. She’s cunning, has a passionately nerdy (and therefore awesome) love for chemistry, and most of all is absolutely adorable, although she’d kill me for saying it. I have the second book in the series out of the library and I can’t wait to read it. :)

The Movie

The Princess and the Frog

Photo thanks to piperrealism

Last night, I watched this movie for the second time and the shine did not wear off! Such a sweet movie, very true to the original Disney classic Princess movies, and yet new and unique. It has catchy songs, beautiful artwork and funny characters. Oh and a cute storyline too. I adored it.

The Photo

It’s this photo from the Sartorialist today. Have you seen a cuter couple lately?? So glamorous. The rest of us can only dream..

.

Alright, that’s all for now sillies. Have a wonderful Tuesday!

xoxo, S.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

