Skip to content

To Market, To Market..

July 24, 2010

..to buy a fat hog, home again home again jiggity jog! I absolutely adore summer markets, full of beautiful, colourful delicious fruits and nourishing healthy veggies. This morning my Mum and I headed over to a local one, scooped up bountiful bags of goodies and brought them home to cook or generally just admire.

{the most gorgeous peaches and plums in the whole world}

{fresh yellow tomatoes}

{patty pan squashes!}

{zucchini blossoms, later deep-fried for dinner using this recipe}

{bulb onions}

After duly admiring all the beautiful produce littering our kitchen, I embarked on the making of kale crisps. I followed the recipe given on the wonderfully healthy, beautiful and informative blog My New Roots. Please read her synopsis of what makes kale so nutritious, but I can tell you myself that 1 1/2 cups of the stuff is 170% of your daily value for Vitamin C. Like, are we kidding here? This is a superfood people. The crisps, when done, were quite yummy. They had an interesting texture, but were a bit chewy for my liking and some didn’t crisp up – I think I used too much dressing! Oh well, they’ll be nicer next time. I will practice!

{kale crisps..mm}

For dinner we had the zucchini blossoms, fresh baby potatoes, fresh corn on the cob and (mock) chicken. All superbly delicious. DON’T YOU LOVE VEGETABLES?? EAT YOUR VEGGIES!!!

It was raining torrentially here today, but regardless me and Isabelle trekked downtown (like the largest nerds on the planet) to look at Filofaxes in person. Omg. I can’t even begin to describe how nerdy we are.. We were obsessed with the idea of a Filofax after reading A Filofax Love Affair by the dear Gala Darling several times and were determined to check them out in person. I am since less manic about them, but I was feverish for awhile about the idea.

Then we sat in Starbucks for a while, discussing various health ideas and getting all worked up and excited about various things, including this new thing I’m reading about: the pH diet. No, I haven’t gone all hippie on yo ass, I’m simply investigating a topic I heard from Kris Carr, the Crazy Sexy Cancer Survivor on her last vlog. Wondieful. Check her vlogs out, she’s probably the coolest person on the whole entire planet.

Also, check out this awesome interview with Jason Mraz that I found in Vegetarian Times..did anyone know he was a raw foodist? Not I. But I’m now dying to try his ‘chocolate mousse’. Mmmmm.

Gah, I am so obsessed with learning about whole health right now. I am brimming with all these ideas full of buzzwords like leafy greens, raw foods, alkalinity, whole foods..mmm. Don’t you all want to glow? I do.

Ah, but enough about that, I must now include several trailers for your viewing pleasure..please keep in mind that most of the time, the trailer is the whole entertainment for me. I rarely see the movies I love the trailers of. Oops! :) :P

This movie breaks my heart with love.

How utterly magical and romantic to have a silent movie in this day and age, to highlight wonderful jazz music in a new (but very old!) way. Mm.

And etc, etc. So many good-looking fall movies arriving. Rejoice! No more fluffy and annoying summer movies! Although, I still haven’t seen Despicable Me or Toy Story 3 so I think I’m missing out there..

Okay I’m off to watch Kill Bill or the Darjeeling Limited or Sabrina, depending on my mother. Again, giant nerd. WHATCHA GONNA DO ABOUT IT? Nuttin.

xoxo, S.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 4, 2010 8:37 PM

    lovely. i like to have that squash, ours is different :)

Leave a Reply

