Skip to content

Fall Inspirations

July 17, 2010

Photo thanks to alittlepeach

As anyone who has seen me lately can attest, I have been very drawn to stripes. I wear stripes almost every day. I adore them! They are part of this new aesthetic that I have become oh-so-drawn mostly due to watching Coco Avant Chanel. It contained the most simple, most beautiful style and fashion, chronicling her style journey from young barmaid to her experiments with menswear, hats and beautifully tailored dresses. Ahh. :)

So now, it’s like the fregging curse of Miss Coco herself has descended upon me! I have now shifted into the territory of classic preppy. I am in love with stripes, chignons, navy blue, chambray, and generally muted colours. However, I don’t really see it as a curse. I see it as an excuse to wear as many polka dots as is humanely possible. Yay!

That’s why, when I was bored and making a collage of what I want my fall wardrobe to look like (slash being a huge nerd), I was leaning on those exact ideas, that exact aesthetic. I’m talking menswear, stripes, little black dresses, blouses, pearls, errythang! I’m loving it. Here’s what I came up with for back-to-school:

Fall Wardrobe

Very classic looking, right? It gets me all excited!

The other day at the mall, I found a perfect chambray skirt, but after wearing it once the zipper broke and I had to return it. :( Maybe I can order it online? But I did find one item that fits into the wardrobe perfectly: a beauty of a boyfriend-fit Oxford on a mad sale at the Gap. It’s soft and slouchy and will be perfect for afternoons at the library.

Hey! Let me know, what are your fall fashion inspirations? Maybe some simple glam a la boyfriend jeans, white tees and ultra awesome black cage shoes ;)? Or bright, exciting ethnic clothes? Or pastel pinks, girly girl glamourous? Whatever it is, I’d love to know!

Right now though, I’m being beckoned to less glamourous pursuits: Lord of the Rings, paninis and a road trip up to a weeklong cottage relaxation. I hope you all have wonderful Saturdays!

Much love,

xoxo, S.

Leave a Reply

