Skip to content

Yadda Yadda Yadda

July 14, 2010

My brogues cheerfully marching everywhere :)

Argh it’s been a busy week. My Aunt and Uncle are visiting from Ottawa this whole week and we’ve had things going on every day so I haven’t had much time to nip in here and post anything of quality. Even tonight it’s just going to be a quick update post. I promise though, next week I’ll put some time into my dear sweet bloggy, I’m going to a cottage with my Dad and sistas. So hopefully I’ll have time.

In the meantime, I think now is a good time to officially announce the launch of ‘my’ new blog: The Book Club. As you may or may not know from several previous book-related posts her at In Limbo, I am a gigantic nerd of epic proportions when it comes to books. I adore them. So much so, that I’ve developed a side blog for only bookie content. So far only my dear Dad has contributed any reviews apart from myself, but I hope to have more of my friends on board coming up soon! In the meantime, check it out and feel free to leave comments or suggestions on any of the posts over there. I’d love to hear from you!

Apart from that, I’ve just been puttering along. I’m volunteering at the hospital once a week, and my photography class started last Thursday. I’ve also been doing my yoga with Rodney Yee almost every day! Woo! Gonna have a rocking bod soon people, look out. There are going to be beachy sun salutations soon going on but I won’t tell you where, I don’t want any of you scoping my butt.

Monday night was Gaga: OMG. There are no words. None. I will provide you with a teaser picture now, since my post on her concert will take lots of love to put together (and more pictures, my camera malfunctioned halfway through – the small point and shoot, don’t worry – and so I need to get some from Lindsay’s). Here she is, in all her talent and glory!

Agh. So amazing. Don’t worry, more details to come soon!

Tuesday night was a nice family barbeque at my Uncle’s house: it was so nice to have everyone gathered together, eating yummy Mom food (coleslaw, chicken/tempeh, baby potatoes, salad, butter tarts, Welsh cakes and brownies) and go for a little swim. We had a great time, it’s always nice to connect with family members that you don’t see often.

Then today I had my volunteering, then came home quickly to change before heading out to see Jersey Boys! The show is coming to an end, and my mom was able to score some extremely cheap seats for the matinee (think 17 dolla) so we just drove down, found some parking and walked to the show! Luckily, the theatre was actually built so that you could see the stage clearly even from Row X, where we were, which was wonderful because: WHAT A SHOW. I knew nothing about Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons, and only knew their one song: December 1963 (Oh What A Night!). But the singing was amazing, the songs were so catchy and finger-snappy and the story really drew you in. It was very enjoyable, but then again, you can take me to any onstage production and I’ll probably like it. :) I love me some musicals!

Tomorrow lots of chores to do and errands to run, probably lots of yard work too (bleh!), and I also have homework. Yep, I have a photography assignment to do: take five (great) pictures of your favourite subject. But no, don’t take 25 and choose the best 5: take 5 total and you have to show all of them to the class! Stress. Jasper’s in for a serious photoshoot, I hope he’s up for it. I have a feeling he will be, he’s a total star.

Ooh, also check out a few blogs that I’m loving!

  • My cousin Zach’s new blog about the Raptors
  • Kris Carr’s weekly Vlog on CrazySexyLife, every Friday
  • Joy the Baker’s very funny and very real baking blog
  • Lifeaftercollege by Jenny Blake: even though I’m not out of college it still gives lots of good advice :)
  • Style Me Pretty. Please note, in case there are any potential suitors out there, I am not creepily obsessed with weddings because I want to have one imminently, I simply think they’re gorgeous. That’s all. Honest. Seriously.

Alrightie, I’ve got to go my little New Zealand sheepsies, I have over a hundred pages to read before bed! Gotta go go go!

Love y’all.

xoxo, S.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2010 4:47 AM

    My best friend was kind of obsessed with weddings in her teens, she’d buy wedding magazines to “look at the guys” and hang the pictures in her room. When I went over to her house, we’d flip through the mags together and find the ugliest ‘maid dresses and threaten to make the other wear that hideous thing when the time came. Well, when I got married, I had no ‘maids and she is happy now to be common-law, no actual wedding. So we never got to inflict horrid dresses on each other.

    • effieboo permalink
      July 15, 2010 9:05 AM

      Whew, you’ve relieved me. I feel better that it doesn’t mean I’m obsessed with finding a husband, only obsessed with the wedding itself! :) That’s funny that you two both ended up without bridesmaids, and LUCKY! Haha

Leave a Reply

