Skip to content

Happy Father’s Day!

June 20, 2010

Yesterday, as I was getting ready to go out, my mom appeared at my door and said “Your father has to go to the hospital”.

Please remember, my parents are divorced. They still have a complicated relationship because of us girls and they see a lot of eachother. In fact, on Friday night we had been out to dinner for my Grandfather’s birthday all together. So it was only a bit surprising that my mom was informing me of an impending emergency. My dad had sliced his thigh open with an exacto knife while attempting to cut through a stubborn cardboard box. Be careful with those things people!! When I arrived at the hospital an hour later with a pale, sickly, hospital-hating sister in tow, my mom took her away and I stayed with my dad.

This was cute: he was scared. That sounds mean. I’ll rephrase that. It felt good to be the parental figure for a few hours, since my dad doesn’t usually allow himself to be taken care of. But he was nervous in hospital, in a decent amount of pain and (since he hates blood and there were copious amounts) a bit woozy. I stayed there with him, waiting. We talked about the hospital: he had lots of questions (he loves medical stuff), some of which I was able to answer because of my time working at the hospital. We played a bit of medically-themed hangman. We talked about his cut. Hmm, a think the better word might be “gash”. For all you medical peeps: I could see the sub-cutaneous fat, okay?! It was crazy! (Oh you should know, blood/cuts/emergencies don’t really bother me, but adrenaline flusters me: I got on the highway going the wrong way to the hospital initially..oops!)

Anyways, it was a wonderful father-daughter bonding experience, if a bit tiring. Afterwards we got burgers and onion rings at Lick’s and were much happier. It was nice to spend time with my dad, albeit in a less-than-ideal situation, it showed me a whole new side of him and a new side of me too.

Anyway, I just wanted to write a little father’s day post in celebration of my wonderful dad. Thanks daddy for instilling me with my voracious love for reading, education and thinking. Thanks for cutting out articles you think I’d like, being awesome about dietary needs, painstakingly choosing books for my birthday presents. Thanks for understanding me when I need to be alone. Thanks for always being there whenever I need to talk boys or life or friends. Thanks for playing mystery computer games with us, ordering in Chinese food and learning how to cook. Thanks for always having a plan.

I love you to pieces Daddy.

xoxo, S.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2010 12:45 PM

    Hubby stabbed himself in the thigh with some sort of sharp object when he was younger, if I touch that spot, he screams like a little girl.

    • effieboo permalink
      June 20, 2010 8:05 PM

      Yep, my Dad will probably be like that for the rest of his life too. He’s got a nasty gash going on right now and I’m playing doctor, dressing the wound. Ouchie!

Leave a Reply

