Skip to content

Lunchbox: Fridge Mess Sandwich

June 8, 2010

I love sandwiches. I make them as often as possible, therefore almost every day. I will eat almost anything in sandwich form, and enjoy it immensely.

Today, I wanted to make a sandwich (duh). I peered into my fridge: nothing pre-made. This did not deter me! I grabbed one half of a dirty-looking avocado, Original flavour Tofutti, and tomatoes and threw together a perfectly delicious sandwich. Here is the ‘recipe’ for my messy-fridge sandwich..

The Whatever-You-Have-Lying-Around-Wich

Ingredients

  • Ciabatta bun
  • Avocado
  • Tomato
  • Olive Oil
  • Balsamic vinegar
  • Kosher salt
  • Agave nectar (or regular sugar)
  • Tofutti (or regular) cream cheese
  • Shreddable cheese (I used a vegan one..I forget the brand name)
  • OR: alternatively, just grab whatever is in your fridge and make a big mess! It will probably be good.

Method

I first sliced up the tomatoes into crescent shapes, and marinated them in a dash of olive oil, some balsamic vinegar, salt, and a squirt of agave nectar. I sliced up the avocado into similar shapes. They didn’t get any marination, poor babies.


I spread the cream cheese onto one half of my bun, and honey mustard on the other half. I laid the tomatoes onto the mustard half, and avocado on the cheese side. I put some shredded cheese on top, capped the sandwich and toasted it until it looked yummy.


Serve with some cranberry juice.

Ommy nommy.

In other news: I had a marvelous rest-of-the-weekend. Sunday was early grocery shopping with my Mummy (a tradition), bookstore shopping with Dad, a hike with my family at Mount Nemo (we went geocaching!!! More on that soon) and lots of reading. I finished off the day with ‘Get Him to the Greek’ with some friends. Wonderful day.

Today I have an interview for a volunteer position at the hospital, I’m quite excited about it! Nervous, but excited.

Talk to you later!

xoxo, S.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

