Skip to content

OMG.

June 3, 2010

I did it. I just bought my very own, beautiful and brilliant, dSLR: the Nikon D90.

AHHHHHHHHHH!

This is the most surreal feeling I’ve ever had. This is the biggest purchase I have ever made. This is a validation of my love for photography, blogging, and really, for myself. Saving up for this beautiful camera is a demonstration (to myself) that I’m worth it. What a great feeling!

It’s quite like the F80 that I’ve been playing around on lately (I’ll scan in the developped pictures soon!) in terms of where all the buttons are located, etc, so in that respect it’s easy enough to get a feel for the camera itself. But the photography, on the other hand, is a completely different story. I have so much to learn, and I can’t wait to improve. Up until now I haven’t had much of a chance to experiment or play around with different settings (especially since film is expensive nowadays! Two rolls for 25 dollars..) and I think that this will give me a wonderful opportunity for that.

Here are a few beginning shots from my baby:

My (actually extremely) delicious vegan meatball sandwich!

Evil Villain Kitty: "Come back to my lair. I will serve you massive amounts of Bailey's."

Rainbow (sort of) fruits

Stacks of library books :)

Raindrops on roses..

Jasper: "Will you ever tire of taking pictures of me?" NO

Of course, since you’re my readers (and friends) and I am not one of those people who pretend they’re perfect: I must admit that I have had three times as many bad photos as good ones so far. I am okay with that: I am still learning a ton! From now on, I am giving you better quality photos and myself a good photography education. Who wants to take a photography class with me?!

So much love,

xoxo, S.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

