Skip to content

Good Eats

May 26, 2010

You probably have realized by now that food is my latest obsession. That, and buying adorable stripey cotton summer shirts.

Blue and white nautical cotton shirt from Forever21

So, since I’m a total camera whore, I take pictures of almost everything I eat. That means that most of these pics stay unseen by you folks until I get around to posting a recipe post. But recipe posts are long, and half the time I don’t have a real recipe, so it’s pointless! My solution: post lots of pictures of my food for inspiration. Does this work for everyone? Good, let’s begin.

Sunday Brunch

My little sister and her best friend surprised everyone on Sunday morning with a big spread of delicious food and drinks. Don’t worry: the daquiris were non-alcoholic! :)

  • Chocolate chip pancakes
  • Strawberry Daquiris: recipe on the frozen mix
  • Strawberry-citrus compote

Saturday Snack

One lazy afternoon, I was hungry and there was as usual no snack food in the fridge. There was also, as usual, one random ingredient sitting on the kitchen island. Today it was a sweet potato! We’d been hearing on the radio about one guy eating many pounds of poutine at the recent Toronto competition, so I guess you could say I was inspired. Needless to say, I didn’t see those photos before making my own poutine, otherwise I definitely wouldn’t have made any!

  • Sweet potato fry poutine!

Monday Night Dindins

We’ve eaten so much fresh asparagus the last few nights, it’s in season only for a week or so and it’s delicious. Delicious. Please run, don’t walk, and get some. We made a delicious pasta with lots of sautéed veggies and cream sauce. Adding some cold cherry tomatoes on top was a fun touch too.

  • Fresh asparagus and mushroom cream sauce pasta

Tuesday Dessert

Mmm, I’ve been wanting to make this cake from Jamie Oliver’s cookbook for such a long time. It looks so delish, and I’ve always been such a huge fan of carrot cake. He makes you whip up some egg whites, which gives the cake an amazing texture. Yum. I made it yesterday with the help of our guests, and we all enjoyed it, especially the mascarpone icing.

  • ‘A rather pleasing carrot cake with lime mascarpone icing’ – Jamie Oliver

Wednesday Lunch

My mom is in love with this salad: a little bowl packed full of amazing proteins and vitamins. She makes it in advance of the week, and then every day throws a different dressing on it and it’s good to go. It’s really simple to make:

cooked quinoa + chopped celery, cauliflower, radish, carrot, pepper + cashews + kidney beans + dressing

= delicious & nutritious

  • Mom’s Quinoa Salad

Yum yum yums!

As you can see, I am quite enjoying my food. I hope you’ve been inspired by some of these recipes: they’re all so yummy! I love food, but only the delicious kind. I won’t eat anything that tastes gross (even in the name of eating vegan), so you can rest assured that they’re all good.  Bon apetit!

xoxo, S.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2010 8:11 AM

    Love you cute cotton top! :)

    Ah, I could definitely eat everything in this post NOW :D

Leave a Reply

