Skip to content

Dream Home

May 24, 2010

I’m a huge fan of what you would call ‘interior design’. I’ve watched my fair share of design shows (can’t watch an episode of Extreme Home Makeover without crying) so I have a general sense of ‘the rules’. But what thrills me more than following the rules is following my instinct. I am a huge fan of bright colours and natural light, and beautiful textiles. I’m definitely not a minimalist, I think that’s boring! Your home is where you spend so much of your time, might as well make it your own.  Here are two rooms I’ve made mine:

University Room

Favourite Features

  • Vintage postcards on the wall; I’m going to frame them next year
  • My posters: New York City streetscape, Andy Warhol’s Robot
  • Bright white starchy bedspread that always feels cozy + rainbow pinstriped sheets
  • Splashes of colour from my rug and throw pillow

My University dorm room!

My Bedroom

Favourite Features

  • Memory wall: over the years I’ve created a 3-D scrapbook on my wall
  • The bright oranges + greens
  • Vintage chairs: my Dad’s Director chair, my blue desk chair
  • All my books surrounding me!
  • My fruity curtains :)

Inspiration

I wasn’t lying about loving colour, see?

And although I love to choose colours and fabrics that simply make me happy, I am very interested in functionality and making your home work well for you. So I often like to get inspired by other people’s unique ideas for comfort and style. Some of my favourite ways to get inspired are to look at:

So, on that note, I’d like to round out this post by sharing my favourite inspirations lately. I have a folder on my computer where I collect home inspiration, and I have picked some of my favourites to share! Oh, by the way, I really only have one serious requisite for my dream home: a great big library.

Photos all Courtesy of The Selby

So.

Where are your favourite places to look for design inspiration? What is the one feature that sets your room/house/apartment apart from everyone elses? What is a luxury you allow yourself at home? What is your favourite way to decorate? I’d love to know.

xoxo, S.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 25, 2010 2:54 AM

    I’m a huge fan of postcards and used to have a wall full of them in my childhood home AND in my German dorm :)

Leave a Reply

