Skip to content

Lunchbox: The Cubano Sandwich

May 21, 2010

In my beloved town of Montreal, there is a very special service that we rely on quite heavily. It’s a late-night gourmet-ish delivery service. It was started by former McGill students who wanted the ability to eat delicious food late at night for a relatively good price. I present to you: Chef on Call! Mmm. Just thinking about their food makes my mouth water.

Chef on Call. Serving up delicious sandwiches, burgers, assorted types of chicken and milkshakes. Their sides include mac & cheese, sweet potato fries and onion rings. Are you with me yet? This is the best thing ever! Maybe you don’t believe me? Maybe you don’t know the feeling of utter starvation at 3:30 am, or the craving to shove garlic bread into your mouth (at no particular time of day). But I do! And this delightful little delivery service, with hipster delivery guys and absolutely ridiculously delicious food is the perfect answer to my calls.

So, in light of my recent detachment from the gorgeous city of Montreal (which I miss immensely) I decided to re-create my all-time favourite Chef on Call sandwich for lunch.

The Cubano:

Freshly sauteed mushrooms, avocado and melted Monterey Jack cheese. Served on fresh baked Ciabata with our roasted garlic mayonnaise.

OM nom nom nom. Delish. And it tastes even better than it sounds. And not too hard to make yourself!

The Cubano Sandwich a la Chef on Call

Ingredients

  • Small handful of mushrooms
  • 1/2 an avocado
  • Ciabata bun
  • Melty cheese (Havarti/Monterey Jack)
  • Mayonnaise
  • Sweet mustard (optional)
  • I added goat cheese to be extra decadent!

Method

Chop the mushrooms into small chunks, and slice the avocado into bite-size pieces. Sauté the mushrooms in a small saucepan over medium heat with a bit of olive oil. They shouldn’t take very long to cook.


Spread the mayonnaise & mustard on one half of the bun, lay the cheeses on the other side. Place the avocado slices on top of the cheese, and the sautéed mushrooms on top of the avocado. Smush the other piece of bread on top, and stick it in the toaster oven for a few minutes until the cheese is all melty!


Serve with a couple potato chips and some chocolate soy milk! Yumm. Happy lunching.


Then I sat my butt down on the couch and watched a little MTV Cribs, my favourite guilty pleasure. I often steal ideas, such as recently, when I spotted a tea drawer on the show, and fashioned my Mom one in which to stash all her tea conveniently. She loved it!

Anyways, I am listening to Taylor Swift non-stop to get myself pumped up for tonight (as if I needed any extra pumping up!). I am really excited to see her live, since I know every word to every song she sings and can play most of them on my guitar, and one on the piano. I’m ready to sing my lungs out and enjoy every minute of it. Even if there are seven year olds all around me. I don’t care. It’s going to be amazing!

I hope that all of you enjoy your Friday nights too, I’ll recap the show (with pictures if I can sneak a camera in) tomorrow!

xoxo, S.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

