Skip to content

Culture Shock 18/05/10

May 18, 2010

Good morning! Hope everyone had a wonderful sleep. Mine has been plagued by vivid dreams of late, and strangely I have been able to remember a lot of them. Very interesting; usually I can remember dreams every week or so, and this has been consistent for two weeks straight. Crazy!

So what’s been on my culture agenda this past week? Well some major themes are

  • Interior design: I have been cramming Architectural Digest like it’s my job, watching Cribs and perusing various websites. LOVE. Can’t wait for next year/the future when I can build up my house to be as I like it to be
  • Weddings: I’m not really big on the whole marriage idea, but I can’t lie when I say I love thinking about weddings. It’s like planning a big party that’s all about you!
  • Cooking: still going. This week so far I’ve made blueberry pancakes, perogies with strawberry/tomato salad and caramelized onions, chili, and fresh tomato sauce for pasta. YUM! I think my mother wants ratatouille tonight, so you know I’ll be watching the movie (for the third time this month) while I make it.

The Article

Dear Diary: An Endangered Species

My fanciest journal :)

Ah, journalling. I love it. I’ve written about my love for journalling here, but in case you don’t remember, it’s because of

a) my terrible memory: it’s so nice to see how I was feeling on a certain day

b) it forces you to have some quiet thinking time at the end of the day, you can reflect

c) it’s indulgently personal

d) it can be beautiful: treat yourself with a nice notebook or pen!

So when I saw this article the other day, I was saddened. It’s true that I don’t know many other people my age that keep journals or diaries, what with all the blogging, tweeting and facebooking we do daily. But it’s a great big shame. As the author of the article points out, what are future historians going to have to go by? The non-personal accounts of day-to-day life splashed across the blogosphere? Boo! Nobody shares their real feelings online, so in the future people will be remembered by their fakeness on facebook. Lame. Anyways, try to get inspired by the article! I know it seems daunting to start journalling but just commit to it! What worked for me was telling myself that I was going to do it every night before bed. After a couple weeks, it’s just second nature. Try it!

The Song

‘Run’ by Taylor Swift

Okay, well it may be a little older, I already covered this song back in February on my Vimeo account, but it remains one of Taylor Swift less-known covers, and a fantastic song. I promise, if you let yourself, you will be downright obsessed with this song for a very long time. Anyways, the reason I chose to feature Taylor today is because…I’m going to see her on Friday!!! No, this is not a joke people! If you know me, you know I love Taylor Swift in crazy amounts. I love her! It’s going to be an amazing concert simply because I know every lyric to every song she’s ever written (to this day, I can’t play & sing ‘The Best Day’ without bursting into tears) and will be singing my heart out, amid screaming nine year olds. I can deal.

The Website

100LayerCake

Photo Thanks to Jayray24

Remember how I mentioned my recent wedding obsession? Well it would be mostly because of this adorable DIY wedding blog, that I leeched from my fab friend Adrienne, who is so fabulous that she is currently chillin’ in Tokyo. Anyways, my superior creeping skills allowed me to discover this website from her via facebook and since, I’ve spawned a wedding obsession. I feel that maybe if I don’t get married, I will throw an extravagant celebration for myself that will be quite like a wedding. The blog shows a lot of how-to posts on pallettes/invites/party favours, but my favourite section is the Real Weddings, by far. Gorgeous photography of unique and beautiful weddings, it’s to die for. Unoriginally, my favourite wedding is also the favourite wedding of the website, but no matter. Check it out here.

The Movie

Tropic Thunder

Photo Thanks to perry_marco

Okay so it’s possible I was the last person on earth to see this movie, but to be fair I’ve been wanting to see it for a while! I saw it with my dad and sister this weekend for the first time, and I was amused. Yes, amused. It was definitely stupid, but it was definitely also funny. The movie is a parody of Hollywood, and does that part well. A group of spoiled actors are shooting on location in Vietnam, along with a huge team of personal assistants and costume designers, who ultimately prevent the director from actually directing. Since he is failing miserably, he decides to force the actors to give him the movie he wants, by somehow setting up the jungle with an array of video cameras, and very strangely forcing the story to exactly follow his script. I guess that’s what’s supposed to be funny? Anyways, there were several very funny moments, including every single time a fat hairy Tom Cruise was shown, Robert Downey Jr at all times, the nine year old drug lord (spoiler alert) and my future husband Jay Baruchel. It was enjoyable, if you ever have a spare night where you don’t feel like being challenged or actually thinking, watch this movie!

The Book

Snow Flower and the Secret Fan

Photo Thanks to Northampton Museum

I just read this book, and I was amazed. I devoured it in a matter of days, because it was so fascinating, horrific and informative. The story of one girl’s life as she grows up in ancient rural China, has her feet bound (explained to the reader in excruciating detail), is matched with another girl for a lifelong friendship (called laotong), is married out to a better family than her own because of her tiny feet, and tells of her great relationship with her friend. The best part of the story for me was the rich detail about every aspect of the culture, the ability to understand what life would have been like for these women. Her story couldn’t be more different than that of you or I, but it is amazing nonetheless. The book is what I call a ‘book club book’, but I love those every once in a while. :) Check it out for sure.

The Photo

‘Summer’ by Cannelle et Vanille

Photo Thanks to Cannelle et Vanille

This photo simply screams summer to me, in the absolute best possible way. I may be off school, which is a blessing, but it’s not summer. Definitely not. One of my best friends isn’t home yet, the weather isn’t beautiful, I have no ability to have cocktail parties on the patio like the one shown above. I can’t wait for real summer, when I can mimic the scene above to the very best of my abilities, throw in some food and friends and be ridiculously happy. Mmm.

That’s all she wrote.

Okay that’s all folks! Thanks for stopping by. Remember you can always stop by and tell me what culture you’ve been consuming lately by leaving a comment below, or dropping me a line at effieboo[dot]inlimbo[at]gmail[dot]com. I’d love to hear from you.

xoxo, S.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Isabelle permalink
    May 18, 2010 7:12 PM

    Journaling is quite possibly one of the best things I have started doing this past month. I’m halfway through my first Moleskine and loving it!

    • effieboo permalink
      May 18, 2010 7:27 PM

      That’s amazing!! Don’t you love it? I love it. Sometimes when I’m tired I hate it, but I know that eventually I’ll be happy I forced myself to write it all down. Ps. I can’t wait to see you!

  2. May 19, 2010 5:03 AM

    I have to go and buy that book!!

    • effieboo permalink
      May 19, 2010 3:53 PM

      It’s a great book! Really interesting. :)

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Culture Shock 18/05/10 « In Limbo -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

