Skip to content

Vicky Cristina Barcelona

May 14, 2010

Photo Thanks to bdkennedy

I just finished watching Woody Allen’s masterpiece, Vicky Cristina Barcelona, for the first time. I am amazed by how much I loved it. It was inspiring, beautiful, and really spoke to me in many ways.

I must admit, one of the reasons I was inspired to watch this movie today of all days was the recent post on College Fashion about the movie’s style. It’s a great breakdown of how to pull off the characters’ effortless style throughout the film.

The movie centers around four characters: Vicky and Cristina (Rebecca Hall and Scarlett Johansson), best friends in Barcelona for the summer + Juan Antonio (Javier Bardem), creative and passionate painter + Maria Elena (Penelope Cruz), also a very passionate artist and Juan’s ex-wife. The four all interact in very different ways, in a ‘love-square’ of sorts, for the summer, causing the characters to question their ideas of love, life and the norm.

It’s set in gorgeous cities in Spain, most notably Barcelona. The library Vicky visits, Juan’s home, and the various restaurants the characters use all demonstrate the great beauty and simplicity of Spain. The way the people behave, their casual and relaxed attitudes, and the food! It’s all so simple, yet gorgeous.

I realize it’s a film, but it was very true to life. The nuances in the actors’ speech, and their casual way of speaking surprised me many times with how realistic it seemed. The way Maria Elena would ramble off in Spanish, the heated arguments, the very typical ‘All-American’ dinner conversation, the attitudes of disproving people: I enjoyed watching what seemed sometimes to be real people in real situations. The only thing that took away from this ‘reality’ was the narrator’s voice, which gave us more details about each of the characters and the plot. However, this also served the purpose of getting to know the characters more intimately, and I liked learning more about each of them.

I like to ‘journal’ sometimes when I’m watching movies alone; to record how the film makes me feel, what it causes me to think about, and what I take away from it. For this movie, I wrote down things like:

  • inspiration
  • love’s incarnations
  • free spirit
  • acceptance
  • stop and live
  • be honest, be yourself, be open and be touched
  • art
  • rustic, old fashioned
  • simple style

Photo Thanks to Zimbio.com

It’s a unique film, one I’d definitely see again. It got me thinking more about the possibilities my life holds: all the extended travel, living in different cities, exploring different sides of myself. Living my life outside the box. Besides, I love being inspired. I have been taking photos all afternoon with my Dad’s gorgeous old film Nikon..

SO.

Have you ever seen VCB? What did you think? Do you know any similar films I might like?

xoxo, S.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    May 15, 2010 7:18 PM

    Did you know Pirates of the Caribbean 4 is coming out next May? Johnny Depp will be back, but not Keira Knightly, instead Penelope Cruz is going to be in it

    • effieboo permalink
      May 15, 2010 10:58 PM

      Whoa really?? I knew about the movie, but not the actress switch..that’s crazy!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Vicky Cristina Barcelona « In Limbo -- Topsy.com
  2. How Can Sony Make The PSP2 A Success? | JapanToday.info

Leave a Reply

