Skip to content

Lunchbox: Guacamole & Cheesy Nachos

May 13, 2010

Mozzarella multigrain nachos with homemade guacamole and white grape juice. Yum!

Why hello there! How’s it going? I hope that everything is going great with you. I’m okay, I guess. Remember how in my last post I was upset about my job hunt? Well, the night that I posted that, I had a message on my machine offering me an interview for a lifeguard position at a local pool. There were a couple problems with this.

  1. I haven’t lifeguarded in two years, so although I am qualified, I’m also rusty.
  2. I didn’t apply to the job.

That’s right. After all my outrage, disappointment and frustration while applying for countless retail jobs, I suddenly get handed an interview on a silver platter – for a job I didn’t even apply to! Charmed life, you might think, but the first thing I did was burst into tears. I was terrified of the idea of having to guard lives as a job. It makes me really nervous! But luckily I have been studying my butt off, and relearning the material. My plan is to do really well on the interview, get the job, and then spend the next month and a half (until the pool opens) practicing and training. I can face this fear. I can overcome it and succeed!

Anyways, that’s what I’ve been up to lately. Today I thought I’d share my lunch with you all, I had delicious and filling cheesy nachos with homemade guacamole on the side. Delish. And so easy. Because, if you haven’t guessed by now, I don’t like complicated cooking. Simple cooking tastes just as good.

Homemade Chunky Guacamole

Ingredients

  • 1/4 Heirloom tomato
  • 1/4 Vidalia (white) onion
  • 2 avocados
  • Kosher salt
  • Coriander
  • Other veggies, if you’d like!

Method

Begin by slicing open your avocados, pitting them and scooping the flesh into a bowl. Mash them up a bit with a fork, to whatever consistency you prefer your guacamole. Chop up your tomato and onion, using as much or as little as you’d like. For this recipe, I used approximately (I don’t measure) a quarter cup of each, in small chunks, but you can choose to add more or less. Just make sure they’re in similar proportions. Remove the leaves from the stems of the coriander, and chop them as finely as you have patience for. Chop up any other veggies you like. Then throw all the veggies into the bowl with the avocados.

Season the mixture with a dash of olive oil, the salt, and whatever other spices or seasonings you like to add to your guacamole. You can either chill it or eat it straight, both are yummy!

For the nachos:

I adore Multigrain Tostitos, they’re the best. Just arrange some on a plate, shred your favourite type of cheese over the top (I used mozzarella) and stick it in the microwave for about 20 seconds. Done!

Easy & delicious lunch

Mmmm. An easy, relatively healthy meal that takes less than fifteen minutes to make. I enjoyed it, I hope you do too!

Oh, and tell me: what is your favourite easy, yummy lunch?

Okay, back to studying. Have a wonderful Thursday!

xoxo, S.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    May 13, 2010 1:23 PM

    I made guacamole yesterday with a similar recipe except I used lime juice instead of olive oil. I don’t really like the strong lime flavour in guacamole, but the lime juice stops the avocadoes from turning brown. Does olive oil have the same purpose? Maybe I’ll try making it with olive oil next time.

    • effieboo permalink
      May 13, 2010 1:26 PM

      I didn’t think of lime juice! But I think I’d like that taste. I’m not sure what the olive oil does, just makes it a little less sticky I guess? I was kind of freestyling. :) My avocados didn’t go brown, but they may overnight.

  2. May 15, 2010 3:05 PM

    Oh, that’s too funny to be offered a job you didn’t even apply for! but you’ll rock the interview I’m sure :)

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Lunchbox: Guacamole & Cheesy Nachos « In Limbo -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

