Skip to content

Culture Shock 11/06/10

May 11, 2010

Better late than never, right? Sorry guys, I apologize for not keeping to my self-imposed schedule of posting this new feature! I offer only the excuse of having such a terribly depressing day yesterday that I couldn’t make myself cheery enough to get excited over anything. I spent the day job hunting – ick – and came up with nothing. I ran into an old work colleague who said she was in the same predicament, except that she’d been looking much longer than I, and had applied practically everywhere..this left me with little to no hope. So I then spent the rest of the day lurching around, handing in resumes and filling out applications, only to be told that nobody was hiring if you weren’t staying in the fall. Poo. I am now on the road of business ventures – I have ideas for a self-run day camp, freelance writing on the web, or selling stuff. We’ll see. You gotta be creative in this economy, or so I hear.

Anyway, on to the fun stuff! I decided to make a small change to this feature, because ‘News I like’ is basically just the same as an article I like, or a website. I have decided to replace that category by a photo that inspires! Ooh, how exciting. :)

The Article

How To Be Your Own Mother

Photo Thanks to digitalART2

I saw this article yesterday and was struck by its honesty. The author explains how her mother wasn’t the ‘ideal’ parent figure, as seen in countless tv shows and movies. She speaks of how she was forced to turn to herself for confidence, guidance and support. I think this is an extremely important message to tell ourselves: our moms aren’t perfect, they’re only people. Sometimes you have to step up to the plate and encourage yourself in whatever it is you love that she doesn’t. For so many years I craved my mom’s approval constantly; only in the last few months have I steadfastly believed in myself and acted without her approval for some decisions. You have to remember – you aren’t your mom! You have to do things she doesn’t agree with, to make yourself who you’re going to be. A very well written article from one of my favourite websites, CrazySexyLife.

The Band

The Avett Brothers

Photo Thanks to IndyMusicFiles

Yeah, so I know I mentioned them here, but I think they deserve more than a mere mention! A band I found about from my floor fellow at school, they make catchy, easy music which can soothe or move you, depending on the song. I love the title track of their new album best, but some of their more upbeat songs get stuck in my head forever. Songs I like: I And Love And You, Slight Figure of Speech, Head Full of Doubt/Road Full of Promise, It Goes On and On. Definitely check them out here.

The Website

Pictory

Photo Thanks to Pictory

An incredible website, showcasing people’s photos and stories by theme: favourite local spots, travel adventures, dangerous situations, ‘the one that got away’. The features are both sad and joyous, inspiring and frightening. It reminds you that there is so much out there in the world that you still have to see, so much to experience. A little sparse on features, we forgive them since a) the website is so cool and b) they just posted a Mother’s day story, so they must still be in business! Go go go go look now, it’s so amazing.

The Movie

The Kids Are All Right

Photo Thanks to Apple.ca

Mia Wasikowsa of Alice fame, Julianne Moore, Annette Bening, Mark Ruffalo not playing the boyfriend in a romcom. They paint a potrait of a modern family, with regular problems, until Mark Ruffalo enters the picture as the kids’ biological father. Their moms are not pleased with the intrusion, especially since their daughter seems to want to really get to know him. It looks like a truly touching, realistic and interesting look at unconventional families, which really hits home for me. Here’s the trailer:

The Book

Her Fearful Symmetry

Photo Thanks to Amazon

A dark and twisty book, a little bit unbelievable, surprising. Audrey Niffenegger, who wrote the mind-bending book The Time Traveler’s Wife has a second book, out for a while, that I read yesterday and part of today. It was perfect for the mood I was in – sad, down, in need of a really good story and a bit of escapism. It centers around the idea of twins and their intimate relationships, telling the story of twins Valentina and Julia who inherit an apartment in London from their estranged aunt, their mother’s twin. A few wonderful characters are involved, including my absolute favourite: Martin. He suffers from OCD, but is so human and believable, I fell in love. There’s all sorts of mystery and secrets, I found it easy to get caught up in the story, fall in love with the characters and wonder what happened next. I had that wonderful feeling of being surprised by the plot, a little confused and completely satisfied when I closed the book. There’s so much more detail I can’t describe, but I promise you won’t be disappointed!

The Photo!

Dion Lee via Street Peeper

Photo Thanks to StreetPeeper

Gah! I was reading my rss reader the other day, and stumbled upon this gem, a homegrown crystal encrusted pair of heels that look like ultra-luxe Louboutins. They’re by the Australian designer, Dion Lee, via StreetPeeper, a wonderful fashion website.

Hope you all enjoyed this week’s edition! By the way, have any of you discovered anything new, exciting, beautiful or fantastic? If so, please let me know! Either leave a comment, or contact me at my email: effieboo[dot]inlimbo[at]gmail[dot]com. Love y’all!

xoxo, S.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    May 11, 2010 5:41 PM

    My dad has a saying that is really annoying (mostly because it may be true) “there’s always a job out there, maybe not the one you want, but one that pays you.” Try applying to cashier jobs, or Wendys or McDonalds or places like that. Not the best job, but you’d be making minimum wage like anywhere else so it’s the same paycheck.

  2. tanyadiva permalink
    May 11, 2010 6:48 PM

    I really like your blog! And I know exactly what you are going through…Good luck finding a job.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Culture Shock 11/06/10 « In Limbo -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

