Skip to content

Happy Mother’s Day!

May 9, 2010

Today I’d like to celebrate my mother, and mothers everywhere! First of all, let me tell you about my mom:

My mother is one-of-a-kind. She’s my role model, my hero, my inspiration, my teacher and one of my best friends. I am constantly in awe of her personal strength (and sometimes her physical strength!). She works full-time, cooks every night, drives us everywhere, makes time for fun events for us and does it all by herself. [My dad is also phenomenal, but that’s another post entirely.] She works harder than anyone I know, but she also makes sure to play harder too. I wouldn’t be who I am today without her guidance, wisdom and criticisms.

I Love You Mom!

She also happens to be very anti-Mother’s day. She thinks it’s a completely ridiculous and commercial holiday that has no purpose. She believes in loving each other every day of the year, not just when Hallmark tells us to. Just another one of her quirks that makes her amazing, I guess. So, this year, we all made her homemade cards, as usual; then she and I went on an excursion to choose beautiful coloured ceramic bowls for the house, browse through the sport clothing at MEC for her Mt. Kilimanjaro climb, sing along to Wicked loudly in the car and pick up Crazy Glue for my sister’s Pet Rock entrepreneurship project. (our entire kitchen table is completely covered with rocks painted as mice, bumblebees, ladybugs, turtles and narwhals. Yep, narwhals.) Then when we got home, I baked her a lemon meringue pie and we cooked avocado quesadillas together for dinner. It was such a nice day, very low key, and most importantly: exactly what she wanted.

I’m so glad that this year, we took a stand against the stale old traditions of what families ‘have’ to do to celebrate their mothers, and instead just did what our mom wanted. Instead of picking her out a present recommended to us by a women’s magazine, we listened to her and she got the celebration she wanted and deserved. But please don’t think I disdain the brunch and cashmere sweaters that so many women love – I’m one of those women!! I’m just glad that this year we were able to celebrate my mom just the way she wanted – no fuss, just lots of love.

Here are some photos from the day:

What I wore: Forever 21 tights, Ralph Lauren oxford

Soy Blended Strawberries & Creme..mmm

Jasper all ready for the day

Glass bust at the BAC

Beautiful glass art, I'd never seen anything like it before

Heart of glass

Hand-made pottery

Our bowls. :)

I hope that you all had wonderful days with your mothers. I feel so lucky to have such a wonderful relationship with my mom, and I’m so glad we could spend the day together. Happy mother’s day everyone!

xoxo, S.

Leave a Reply

