Skip to content

Julia Child Bruschetta

May 6, 2010

A couple days ago, I made a delicious (if I do say so myself!) meal for my family. Along with a slightly bland  – I’m too conservative with salt, it seems – penne a la vodka, I concocted simply wonderful version of the bruschetta as seen in Julie & Julia, which, not coincidentally, is one of my favourite movies.

Photo Thanks to Del Rey News

Reasons for my passionate love for this movie include:

  1. I’m crazy about Meryl Streep
  2. They show gorgeous food throughout it
  3. It’s about a blogger :)
  4. It’s set in Paris and New York City.. sigh

Anyways, all the food she cooks in the movie looks delicious (except the meat jellies, ew.), especially the bruschetta. Mmmm! So here is my super-duper easy version of what she does in the movie. It’s not a recipe, so much as cooking guidelines (my favourite way to cook, if I can pull it off), but I can guarantee it’ll be tasty no matter what you do.

Julia & Julia Bruschetta à la Steph

Ingredients

  • 1 medium-sized Vidalia (sweet, white) onion
  • 1 large tomato
  • 1/2 a yellow pepper
  • Basil
  • Olive oil
  • Balsamic vinegar
  • Salt & pepper
  • Loaf of good, crusty bread
  • A couple garlic cloves

Method

Begin by chopping up your veggies, one at a time, every which way. I am a terrible chopper, so I tend to stick to slightly bigger chunks of veggies on my bruschetta, but you can go as finely chopped as you like. I try to keep the different veggies in the same sized chunks, because it’s easier to eat and because the Vidalia onions aren’t too sharp to eat in larger chunks. If you’d like to use red onions or other types of veggies, go ahead! My family likes this combo because they look so pretty together.

Next, deposit the chunks into a bowl. You can judge whether or not they’re in good proportions to each other, and chop more of one or another if you need to. You want them to look like a pretty medley! Add some basil, either ripped into little pieces or chopped. Then, season the bruschetta with olive oil, salt, pepper, and a little balsamic vinegar. I read somewhere that the amount of salt you add will determine how juicy your bruschetta ends up, so keep this in mind. Then let it sit to marinate for a few minutes.

Delicious bruschetta mix!

While you’re waiting, prepare the bread! Slice your bread into manageable chunks, and, just like Julie in the movie, toast the bread in a frying pan with a little smidge of olive oil. Not too much! This is a good way to get more taste into your bruschetta. Make sure you toast it until it’s the right crunchiness, I didn’t toast mine enough and the bruschetta soaked into it a little much for my liking. Once it’s toasted, take some peeled garlic cloves and rub them into the bread slices, depositing as much garlic goodness as possible!

Then, scoop your veggies onto the bread, put on a platter and dig in! Keep in mind, this recipe serves different numbers, depending on the amount of veggies you end up chopping, or the size of your bread slices. Here, we made six servings, on palm-sized pieces of bread.

Bruschetta ready for eating!

Yum! My family enjoyed it, and I hope yours will too.

Bon appetit!

xoxo, S.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. foodlovingpolarbear permalink
    May 9, 2010 4:30 AM

    Your bruschetta looks AWESOME!! I haven’t seen the movie but I loved the book and have read it twice :)

    • effieboo permalink
      May 9, 2010 11:00 AM

      Thanks!! I promise it tasted at least as good as it looked. :) And if you loved the book, definitely see the movie: Meryl Streep is amazing!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Julia Child Bruschetta « In Limbo -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

