Skip to content

Done Like Dinner

April 30, 2010

It’s the end of first year!

Since I last posted, I’ve had the most simultaneously wonderful and terrible couple of days.

The Wonderful

1. Finished my last exam!

2. Dinner @ Lola Rosa with my mom & friends.

Avocado Quesadilla

Lola's Nachos

Chalkboard Menu

3. Strolled around the student ghetto, looking for apartments.

4. Explored Old Port.

So European

Wearing H&M trenchcoat and striped shirt, vintage brogues and Forever 21 jeans

Notre Dame Cathedral

Notre Dame Cathedral Chapel

Old-fashioned horse-drawn carriages

5. Ate at a fancy French restaurant for lunch.

White wine mussels

Country-style veggie pasta

Goat cheese salad on crusty bread

6. Saw some beautiful stores.

7. Ate @ Aux Vivres, a delicious vegan restaurant.

Organic raspberry-lemonade soda

Thai bowl with pickled carrots, bok choy and peanut-sauce tempeh

Portobello mushroom burger with caramelized onions and homemade organic chipotle ketchup

8. Danced the night away!


The Terrible

1. Packing up my room and leaving rez, and saying goodbye to all my friends. Enough said.

Sad, empty dorm room

So, I’m back at home. It took one long drive, that I slept for most of, waking only for Subway and pit stops. I unpacked the whole car (I have way, WAY too much stuff), had a shower and settled in to the realization that I have no studying to do! I have no homework, no commitments. I am taking a big, deep breath for a few days before I start looking for a job, I am so exhausted. I miss all of my friends from rez immeasurably and I will be keeping in touch with them over the summer.

My time in residence was one of the best years of my life. It was hard, scary and confusing; it was wonderful, hilarious and awesome. I can’t wait to spend three more years (and lifetimes besides) with these amazing people that I’ve met this year. You know who you are my lovelies. I would be nothing without you and your support. Thanks for an awesome year. McConnell 2009-2010!

xoxo, S.


4 Comments leave one →
  1. foodlovingpolarbear permalink
    May 1, 2010 6:46 AM

    Sounds like you had a lot of fun stuff going on to make you feel better about leaving :) love your outfit!

  2. Haitian permalink
    May 3, 2010 1:48 PM

    I just unpacked yesterday and that same realization of freedom came over me, there’s so much time now and I can do whatever I want with it. Also, craziest feeling: I had packed up all of my things in rez the day before I had to leave rez and when I woke up the next day, it was no longer my room. Well it is technically still mine for a day, but there was nothing there to indicate that I live there, just blank walls and packed bags. Heh, and to think this happens with a new batch of kids every year :P

    • effieboo permalink
      May 3, 2010 10:53 PM

      I know, it’s the saddest thing ever to be home and not in rez. But on the plus side now we have way more time to do fun stuff. Right? Rightt?????? Are our lives so sad that life was really better when we had exams? Haha maybe.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Done Like Dinner « In Limbo -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

