Skip to content

m: brgr

April 24, 2010

Tonight, for my friend Christina’s birthday, we took a much-needed break from our excessive studying to treat ourselves at a fancy schmancy restaurant. Okay, so it’s a glorified burger joint. But take one look at their menu here and you’ll see that it really is glorified. Some of the craziest things? The 39$ foie gras burger, black truffle carpaccio, and cheez wiz BBQ meatloaf? Well, apart from that Cheez Wiz thing, everything else on the entire menu is absolutely amazing. I’m serious. So delicious!

And although there were four people from Ottawa at dinner who bragged that their local burger joint, ‘The Works” has much more variety (I’ve heard peanut butter burger, mac&cheese, etc), I can safely say that this was probably more stylish. It’s nestled right downtown, has a beautiful outdoor patio, uber-cool bathrooms, two levels, a sick bar, wallpaper of artistic Montreal photography and an overall very modern vibe. I’ve been before, with my Dad, but I was more than happy to come back!

Drinks Menu & Bar

Outside Patio

My order? Lemonade, sweet potato fries with roasted red pepper aioli, veggie burger with goat cheese + caramelized onions and a chocolate milkshake for dessert. I wouldn’t have gotten the milkshake, but when I texted my Dad to say I was back at ‘our’ restaurant, he offered to buy me a milkshake to celebrate my hard work for exams. :) Thanks Dad.

My Meal :)

My companions got mostly burgers (other notable toppings include grilled pineapple and fried egg) but two of them got the truffle mac and cheese. Oh. My. Goodness. I don’t think I’ve ever tried truffle oil before, but let me assure those who haven’t either: it IS all it’s cracked up to be. It’s absolutely delicious. No exaggeration. Even just the smell gets your mouth watering! One got it with porcini mushrooms, the other with pulled pork. It comes with crushed potato chips on top. I definitely snuck a couple bites, mmmmm. :)

Truffle Oil Mac & Cheese with Porcini

And of course, no delicious celebratory meal would be complete without dessert. For the birthday girl? Deep dish chocolate chip cookie with vanilla ice cream. For me? Chocolate milkshake.

Deep Dish Chocolate Chip Cookie

Chocolate Milkshake

Honestly, what would I do without chocolate? Probably nothing useful.

In summary:

  • Casual. m:brgr is a gourmet burger joint that doesn’t seem snobby. Today, all the servers were in Habs t-shirts and the game was playing full blast over the bar. The dinner ambiance was punctuated frequently by the sounds of the Habs scoring..
  • Funny clientele. n general it was pretty normal, a few families and students. But there were also lots of singles and friends, a couple people eating alone. But the funniest clientele? A group of women who looked like the Real Housewives of Orange County, and a group of friends who pulled up in a stretch Navigator (what car haven’t they made long at this point?) and then acted completely normal. It was nice for people watching, especially since we sat by the window. We could creep on the patio folk!
  • Veggie-friendly. As I said before, the mac & cheese is to die for, and the veggie burger, although a bit crumbly, is delicious and obviously homemade, not prefab. You can also get poutine, a grilled cheese, or salad.
  • Slightly Pricey. A little more than I would spend as a student, but then again I opted for lemonade instead of water, and tacked on a seven dollar milkshake at the end. Since you build your own burger, you could definitely keep it affordable, and it’s not too pricey that you can’t go on a special occasion.

I love it there, and I bet you will too. If you’re ever in Montreal, check out m:brgr on Drummond Street (just off Sherbrooke).

Tell me about your favourite burger joints! What are the craziest menu items?

OR

Where do you eat when you’re celebrating?

xoxo, S.

ps, I’m halfway through exams! Yippee!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Anne @ Food Loving Polar Bear permalink
    April 24, 2010 5:16 AM

    That burger place sounds very good!! :) when I’m celebrating I usually go to a bit “better” = pricey restaurant and splash on a 3-6 course menu, luckily I’m not celebrating too often or I would be totally broke :P

Leave a Reply

