Skip to content

Reading Is Sexy

April 21, 2010

As I mentioned in my last post, I am very excited for my first University summer. It seems to stretch out endlessly, spanning the months from April to August: days full of sun and fun.

Photo Thanks To Foreign Roads.

One of my absolutely favourite things to do whenever I have oodles of free time is to spend them reading. When I don’t have time to read, I make lists of books I want to read. I used to work at a bookstore, and I have since then literally stockpiled books into my bookshelves, and filled my brain with more titles I’d love to read. There are three types of books that I plan on reading this summer:

The Project.

You know, that book that you’ve been meaning to read your entire life but never got around to because you just never had the time? Well those tend to go on people’s ‘summer book list’ because the summer presents us with uninterrupted free time. Personally, I have a list of ‘summer project’ novels the size of my arm. On the menu for this particular summer? Well I’m still deciding, but here are a few of my top picks:

Infinite Jest

It’s really not very likely that I’ll tackle this book this summer. I wish I’d had it last summer (and the motivation) because there was a project called Infinite Summer, which was a reading club for all those attempting to read this 1100 page masterpiece. It’s  by the same genius who brought us ‘This is Water”, David Foster Wallace. I’d love to read it, but I don’t know if I have the willpower to follow it through. We’ll see. I might as well, it is just heftily sitting on my bookshelf like a paper weight.

Gone With The Wind

I must have read the first page a thousand times at this point. And I can’t tell you how much I want to dive into Scarlett’s world and get lost for a few sun-bleached days by the pool or at the cottage. It’s definitely a contender.

Lord of the Rings


Sure, they’re classic. And I adore the movies. So the only stopping me from finishing the book is time and stamina (I got bored at the Council of Elron the first time I tried to read them..). I know I’d love them, it’s just a matter of commitment!

The Interesting One.

This category of books are the ones that I am fascinated by. Most of them are non-fiction and are for my education mostly. These are the ones that make me giddy inside. :)

Fast Food Nation

I bought this book very recently, only a couple of weeks ago. It’s yet another book talking about the negative consequences of our current food industry, as well as the history of fast food. I’m looking forward to gaining even more insight into the realities behind what people eat.

No Logo

This one has been on my bookshelf for a while now, ever since I was magnetically pulled to it at my favourite second-hand bookshop. It’s about how powerful brands have become, and the non-transparency of the system.Very interesting.

How The Mind Works

A recent gift from my Dad on one of our book-shopping trips. It’s marketed as a book that answers all sorts of questions about humanity by looking at brain science. Aka, COOL! :) Plus, it’ll get me pumped up for next year, my first year of solid psychology courses. I am so excited.

The Just-For-Fun.

It could be anything, really. Anything that catches my eye. A fashion book, a modern novel, a random book I picked up from the library, my sisters’ fluffy teen novels. But since I haven’t been to the bookstore in such a long time (read: a week) I don’t know what will be on my must-read list in this category for the summer. It’ll take a shopping trip to some of my favourite haunts to find out.

What are you guys planning on reading this summer?


I can’t believe I only have seven days separating me from the glorious summer! I have so much information to pack into my brain before then it’s scary. Biology on Friday, Physics (omg) on Monday, and then Chemistry on Wednesday. Then I’m finished!! My mommy is coming to pick me up, and I plan on having two guilt free days in Montreal eating out and partying my butt off before heading home. I’m so anxious to get my exams over with successfully. I guess I oughta go to bed now!

xoxo, S.


77 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2010 10:14 AM

    I love to read. This post has motivated me to make sure I get some reading in this summer :) I will definitely check out Fast Food Nation and No Logo – great suggestions!

  2. gloriadelia permalink
    April 21, 2010 10:35 AM

    I love to read, as well. Enjoyed reading your post, in fact. Thanksfor the reminder to read Gone With the Wind. Gloris

  3. April 21, 2010 10:37 AM

    Are those your books? I would love to dive into that bookshelf anyday!!

  4. April 21, 2010 10:53 AM

    I’ve read Gone with the Wind many times. Its one of my favourites – so much colour and detail and depth to the characters. The movie is a sad sham by comparison – oh the gist of the story is the same, but the book is just such a worthy read.

    Try The Hobbit before you read the Lord of the Rings – its a nice starter. More reader friendly, actually, my favourite of the series. :)

  5. ferxist permalink
    April 21, 2010 10:53 AM

    As long as it’s far away from a Twilight-esque book that drips with female hormones. The Divine Comedy would work.

    Why not try playing a visual novel instead? Fate/stay night is excellent, as long as you’re not spoiled. Also, thank you for the suggestions.

    Jonathan Ferxist

  6. idealskeptic permalink
    April 21, 2010 10:57 AM

    Thanks for reminding me that I want to read “Gone with the Wind” this summer, too! For weeks its be gnawing at me that there was a book I wanted to by and read but I couldn’t remember what it was. And now I remember!

  7. becky permalink
    April 21, 2010 10:59 AM

    If you haven’t already, you absolutely need to read the trilogy by Stieg Larsson. The first one is “The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo”. You won’t regret it, I promise.

    Have a wonderful summer!

  8. April 21, 2010 11:08 AM

    I’ve read The Language Instinct by Steven Pinker and it was facinating so I’ll have to check out How the Mind Works. I too have a TON of books on my shelves that I want to read. Enjoy your summers while you have them cause it gets harder and harder to carve out time to read when you get older.
    Found your blog via the WordPress front page. I’m always on the lookout for new, intersting blogs to read!

  9. April 21, 2010 11:30 AM

    I can’t be the only person who liked the LotR movies more than the books. Those first 100 pages in the Shire are torture. I recommend Life of Pi and commend you for taking all these on nonetheless. Very impressive, super jealous.

  10. April 21, 2010 11:37 AM

    Your blog is awesome! I will be borrowing/stealing many ideas.

    I would suggest Shock Doctrine by Naomi Klein. I read No Logo many years ago and it’s a bit dated and lame compared to her newer book.

    All the best,

    Scott

  11. April 21, 2010 11:40 AM

    Mmmm, I agree reading is sexy. A girl with a brain is hot. May I suggest some Augusten Burroughs? Running with Scissors and Dry are fantastic. Thoughtful, witty and they will definitely make just about anyone appreciate even the lowest point of their lives.

  12. Tina permalink
    April 21, 2010 11:41 AM

    Gone with the wind is the best.

  13. April 21, 2010 11:51 AM

    Well, they all seem to be very interesting books. As for the “reading is sexy”: I totally have to agree with you! ;)
    To the question of what I’m reading:
    Currently I’m giving me a headache with THE LORD OF THE RINGS… It’s fascinating me but it’s also very hard to read sometimes…
    Also I’m reding ALICE IN WONDERLAND.
    As for the summer, I still don’t know exactly what I want to read. Maybe I’ll – once again – start with PRIDE AND PREJUDICE and THREE BAGS FULL.

  14. April 21, 2010 12:09 PM

    I am so jealous of you! I try and try and try to read and I always end up halfway through a book and then all of a sudden it’s a year later and I am still at the same point…then I start a new book telling myself, this time it will be different… Well it hasn’t for the past 30 years! LOL!

  15. April 21, 2010 12:16 PM

    gerat post, reading IS sexy… and i do an english literature degree! ha. LOTR is SUCH a mission. I read the Hobbit & gave up a few pages into the trilogy. This summer i’ll be reading whatevers on the epic reading lists they give us! x

  16. April 21, 2010 12:18 PM

    (just noticed i wrote ‘gerat’ instead of ‘great’… english degree… fail)

  17. April 21, 2010 12:39 PM

    let me know how No Logo is, I’ve been meaning to read that one too!

    btw, reading IS sexy!

    http://www.tracyzhangphoto.wordpress.com/

  18. April 21, 2010 12:52 PM

    Nice blog..I have a ‘reading disorder’ and read whenever I find time..currently reading Sophie’s Choice by Styron..Engrossing.
    cheers

  19. April 21, 2010 1:02 PM

    I am almost always in the middle of reading a book. Right now I am about to start ‘The Complaints’ by Ian Rankin.

    I agree with everyone above who advised you to start with ‘The Hobbit’.
    If you really want to impress people, read ‘War and Peace’ by Tolstoy. I read it when I was a student, during one of the long vacations. It remains one of my favourite books and I always meant to read it again but didn’t have time until I took early retirement!
    What I am saying is read these big and important books NOW while you still have time.

  20. theaveragepoet permalink
    April 21, 2010 1:20 PM

    Just bought No Logo. Sounds like an interesting book. Can’t wait to get it in the mail! :D

  21. April 21, 2010 1:37 PM

    Awww man! That’s a good list of books to read. I tried to get into Infinite Jest but the task of getting through so many pages was really daunting. I don’t think I’m mature enough to have the follow-through for that. So you’d say This Is Water is a pretty great read then? Maybe I should try that one.

    Nice blog, by the way. It’s cozy.

  22. April 21, 2010 1:41 PM

    Gone With the Wind is one of my favorite books. I have a Barbara Kingsolver novel sitting on my shelf, “The Lacuna”. I would also like to read her book “Animal, Vegetable, Miracle. Would also love to pick up some David Sedaris books as I have heard they are hilarious. Best of luck!

  23. April 21, 2010 1:47 PM

    Good luck with Infinite Jest, it’s on my eternal To Read list.

  24. April 21, 2010 1:50 PM

    Who reads books these days? I mean real books. Come on, you must know you can get books digitally in the comfort of your own home right? And you all should know there are huge archives of digital books waiting for you to explore for free too.

    Overall good books, and reading books online is even more sexy!
    Remain.Simple

  25. April 21, 2010 1:54 PM

    Readers are leaders.
    I hate e-books. I love the smell of books, the rustle (i don’t know if I use properly word) of cards.

  26. April 21, 2010 2:05 PM

    You got some good choices/picks there for your summer reading list. My problem? I buy a million books I want to read and then it takes me forever to get through them because I just keep buying more and more! Right now I decided to jump into the world of romantic novels. So I started reading the In the Garden series by Nora Roberts. Not my usual pick for books, but it’s nice to change things up. BTW, I also looove book stores :) Just the smell and look inspire me! lol.

    Keep your blog posts coming and feel free to check out my blog as well at: wwwnorasalemwrites.wordpress.com

    Thanks
    ~~NS
    http://www.norasalemwrites.wordpress.com

  27. Ben/Kate permalink
    April 21, 2010 2:22 PM

    Dude. I am so totally right there with you on Infinite Jest–and may I add that Fellowship of the Rings (because I have sadly only read it and The Hobbit of Tolkien’s novels) is so mind-bogglingly good that it’s kinda insane; and also that (being born into the South and all of it’s culture along with being very headstrong and somewhat bossy **cough*cough*bitchy*cough*cough**) Gone with the Wind is one of my all-time favourite reads–it hits the re-read list a lot. FANTASTIC!!
    And also, I’m in the middle of Fast Food Nation and, seriously, go read it. Like, now. Go. Grab. Read.

    As a bossy addition: I’d like to double-recommend Life of Pi, Alice in Wonderland (although Through the Looking Glass is LOADS better), The Divine Comedy, and of course, Gone With The Wind again.

    —I miss having free summers with nothing but books in front of me.–

  28. April 21, 2010 2:46 PM

    I love reading! My list is nothing so complex. I’m going to finish reading Angelology, The Girl Who Played with Fire, Dead in the Family. But I’m always welcome to suggestions. That is just what I’ve seen so far.

  29. April 21, 2010 3:15 PM

    I see where you are coming from with the Lord of the Rings issues. If I can give you a bit of encouragement on this point, you have already gotten through the boring parts. Up to the council of Elrond is the worst! The Shire, Tom Bombadil, UHG! After this is where it really starts getting good. Another tip is to not fight Tolkien’s long winded descriptions. Immerse yourself in them, and it goes along splendidly. Enjoy

  30. infamousqbert permalink
    April 21, 2010 3:22 PM

    re: LoTR: just skip the singing/poems. you’ll cut out a good 20-30 pages of each book and miss NOTHING. :)

    re: Gone with the Wind: just be sure to keep in mind the whole “history is written by the victors” idea. it’s a good book, and i think an important one, but it does totally romanticize the “good negro” and the “good master/mistress” concept.

    being an old fogey (graduated college in 2001), i do miss the “summer” concept. i was never completely free, as i always had a job, but that was much less of a commitment than school for sure and i spent MANY hours doing too much drinking and too little reading. now, i make up for it by reading in every spare moment i have. :)

  31. April 21, 2010 3:50 PM

    My Project books are Don Quixote and Jude the Obscure. Jude isn’t that long, but the last time I tried to read it, I got bogged down in the first chapter. They are both on my “I Wish I’d Read That” Challenge list for the year.

    My Interesting book for the time being is Jesus Wants to Save Christians. A gift from my friend after a guy I was dating decided we weren’t compatible because I didn’t believe in exactly the same thing and in exactly the same way as him.

    And my Just For Fun books are anything by Nicholas Sparks! Love the romance!

    I really enjoyed this post, I’ll be stopping by again!

  32. cmkline2 permalink
    April 21, 2010 3:52 PM

    What a great post . . . as a fellow book lover, I got tired of not finding books in the library that I wanted to read a number of years ago and decided to bring the library to me instead. I definitely think that compiling a summer reading list would be perfect. Now the only difficult part is figuring out what I want to read from my collection, aside from the two I’ve already got coming by post: Octave Mirbeau’s The Torture Garden and William Gresham’s Nightmare Alley. Cheers.

  33. April 21, 2010 4:03 PM

    I love this list, I do the same thing, grabbing titles from Oprah’s book list (that’s right, Lady O’s got great books on her shelves) and even from what I see people reading in coffee shops and on the lightrail. That, thankfully, is a never ending list!

    I highly recommend Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen, I just finished it and want to start again, and Give Me by Irina Denezhkina, one I have read multiple times.

    I hope you enjoy your reading! And I’m so happy you got put on the WordPress front page!

  34. April 21, 2010 4:11 PM

    Great blog…Thanks for sharing :)

  35. Songbird permalink
    April 21, 2010 4:27 PM

    Reading IS sexy… what a great summer you’ll have!
    Here are my recommendations to add to your growing list:

    Patrick Hamilton- Twenty Thousand Streets Under The Sky
    Richard Yates- Young Hearts Crying
    Tony Parsons- My Favorite Wife

  36. April 21, 2010 4:33 PM

    I love your post and just suggest the book named ” The Kite Runner”. I don’t know if you have read it or not, but i have read this book for my college class and I actually did cry while reading it! SO if you have never had -Give it a try:)

  37. April 21, 2010 4:37 PM

    I loved your suggestion of Gone with the Wind. I just read Eating Animals by Jonathan Saffron Foer (haven’t read fast food nation) but it was a great read. Very good information written like a novel. I am currently reading The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pit Society and its good! My summer reading list: Chelsea Handler books, Slaughterhouse and The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner (Meyer).

    And by the way…reading IS sexy.

  38. April 21, 2010 4:45 PM

    I have two project books. One is, surprise, surprise, “War and Peace.” I know it’s a cliche but I’ve read two other Russian novels and they were fantastic. They just take a big investment in terms of time and concentration. Another is Godel, Escher, Bach, which I started and liked but decided to table for a later date. Ask your local math nerd about that one.

    Today a professor recommended to my class, “The Big Short,” by Michael Lewis. It’s about the fraud and deception that some on Wall Street engaged in that caused our economy to tank. Another book I’d like to read on a related topic is, “Too Big to Fail.”

  39. jcalanayan permalink
    April 21, 2010 4:56 PM

    You have to read Gone With the Wind. You just have to. I re-read it every other year. I too have a list of books I want to read. I have 4 books on my bedside table that I’m “currently” reading. Love the post. :-)

  40. April 21, 2010 5:08 PM

    Fastfood Nation was actually pretty annoying. Especially if you’re already morally committed to buying local and whatnot.

  41. April 21, 2010 5:37 PM

    Writing is sexier…(Smile)!!

  42. April 21, 2010 6:05 PM

    Hi..
    I’m a book junkie as well..
    Book is my drug.
    Keep on reading. =)

  43. April 21, 2010 6:13 PM

    I love to read – i love reading more than watching TV – and I have never thought there was anything wrong with it. Keep up the good work, i am loving your blog.

  44. April 21, 2010 7:01 PM

    Gone with the Wind is an awesome read. I actually enjoyed it more than the movie, but that happens a lot doesn’t it?
    Good luck on your exams!
    I’m almost there too. One more to go tomorrow and then I’m free! =)

  45. April 21, 2010 7:08 PM

    I read Gone with the Wind when I was 15 and loved it. I recommend it. I also read the sequel, which is a different author, but based on the book. I think it was called Scarlett.
    i was at the book shop the other day and noticed that there is another one based on Rhett. Maybe i should get that and read it, but its been so long since I read the other 2.

  46. April 21, 2010 7:18 PM

    Reading can be addicting, look at what it done to my cousin now she’s wants to shop books instead of clothes..hahaha..But I like reading as well.. thank you for the books suggestion!

  47. April 21, 2010 7:32 PM

    Fast Food Nation was great! (probably still is, lol)

  48. Colin L Beadon permalink
    April 21, 2010 7:35 PM

    Don’t only read everything you can that interests you, write too. Write and write and write, and read.
    Any book that really catches you, keep all your life, and re-read again and again, every couple years, until you have absorbed everything out of it.
    I am going to name just one book, that has recently enflamed me within the last two months.
    ‘A Short History of Nearly Everything’ by Bill Bryson. I have already read it three times, but then you won’t understand that,… until you pick it up and start reading it.

  49. April 21, 2010 7:45 PM

    I like your ideas – reading is sexy! Hhhmm, I kind of agree with you there.Words are the perfect seduction, mental aphrodisiac and intellectual foreplay… But do girls find men who read sexy? If so I really need to work on making my reading habits a lot more public…how does this sound? Breakfast with postmodern philosopher Jacques Derrida or German phenomenologist Martin Heidegger, lunch with a little light reading on Freud or Abraham Maslow and as for a night cap a healthy Gothic night fantasy world in a Graphic novel such as The Watchmen or Batman?

    Not sure if that kinding of reading still has the girls swooning over their man…but in the spirit of Gone with the Wind: “Frankly my dear, I don’t give a damn!”

    Jus kidding…thanks for the blog and reminding me of what it was like to be a student. Enjoy your summer vacation.

    David

  50. April 21, 2010 7:49 PM

    We used “How the Mind Works” in my cognitive psychology class. It’s a pretty cool. I like how it doesn’t go hard core concepts in discussing memory, biases and all sorts of cog psych topics. We didn’t get to finish the whole book but my professor recommends that we read the whole of it.
    You have an interesting reading list. I actually do the same, I have a whole pile of books to read and I also make summer readings. I’m currently reading wolf totem which has been sitting on my shelf for some time now.

  51. April 21, 2010 9:22 PM

    Random suggestions from my collection of favs:
    –West With the Night (Beryl Markham)
    –The Sun Also Rises (Ernest Hemingway)
    –Memoirs of a Geisha

    Enjoy the pages!

  52. April 21, 2010 9:36 PM

    I have a very long time not to read the book(always in the computer), this summer should find some books to read.
    Thanks for sharing!

  53. April 21, 2010 10:40 PM

    I read for fun myself. Gone with the wind and LOTR are both OK. I agree with @AidenR–the LOTR movies are much better than the book. If you like current events, Mark Halperin and John Heilemann’s Game Change is fantastic.

    Do let us know how the reading project goes. :-)

  54. April 21, 2010 11:05 PM

    I read Gone with the Wind in high school in my 10th grade English class. I’d love to read it again, but my love has gone more the way of the short story. That being said, I do want to get around to reading the Lord of the Rings books. Dracula was a fantastic read in the same class. My favorite book is Kerouac’s “On the Road.” I’ve read it four times and never once have I become bored. And yes, reading IS sexy.

  55. April 22, 2010 12:31 AM

    You’ve just inspired me to go out and buy Gone with the Wind. It’s one of those ones always on my list, that never turns into reality.

    I’m reading the Witches of Eastwick at the moment, which was hard to get into, but i am now LOVING.
    x alis

  56. April 22, 2010 12:34 AM

    Nice books, looking forward to read them.

  57. foodlovingpolarbear permalink
    April 22, 2010 1:50 AM

    Hi! I just found your blog and I think it’s awesome. I LOVE reading and do it whenever I have any free time, also in train on my way to work/home, in shower, car etc. Reading is so much fun and there are so many new (and old) book to dicover!

    I’ve read Gone with the Wind maybe around 5 times and never ever get bored with it. It’s one of the best books I’ve read. I’d also recommend the sequel Scarlett, although it’s not as good as the original.

    Lord of the Rings is also on my “summer books”-list :)

  58. April 22, 2010 2:27 AM

    join me please

  59. April 22, 2010 2:28 AM

    join me

  60. cherny permalink
    April 22, 2010 3:09 AM

    i like your words and expressions~ & i love reading too :) nice share~

  61. April 22, 2010 3:57 AM

    its greattt…..

    thxx…

  62. April 22, 2010 4:14 AM

    You really have got nice collection of books, just try reading “Tuesdays with Morrie: An Old Man, A Young Man and Life’s Greatest Lesson” . An inspirational true story by Mitch Albom, quite simple yest elegant story told from the soul and touches the soul…

  63. foodlovingpolarbear permalink
    April 22, 2010 6:31 AM

    I would also recommend Kite Runner and Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini, such great books!

  64. April 22, 2010 6:41 AM

    One thing Peace Corps usually provides for it’s volunteers is plenty of time for a reading renaissance… and wouldn’t you know MY reading list for the summer include fast food nation, infinite jest, and lord of the rings. I still can’t get past the council of elrond, but I just decided to start there next time and move on. Reading IS totally sexy.

  65. Colin L Beadon permalink
    April 22, 2010 7:13 AM

    The great short story writers. H.E.Bates, D.H.Lawrence. Hemingway. John.Steinbeck. F. scott and Zelda Fitzgerald. John O’hara. Let them lead you by the hand into, wonderland. You can read them over and over again and again, such is their emotional power. They are Sexy, not by the actual words they use, but by what they don’t need to add.

  66. April 22, 2010 8:04 AM

    Thrilled to know you love to read. I’ve got about a dozen books I need to finish reading.

  67. April 22, 2010 8:13 AM

    Thanks for sharing!

  68. April 22, 2010 1:53 PM

    i loved too…. there’s so interesting…
    and i agree.. reading IS SEXY..

  69. Andrea permalink
    April 25, 2010 3:59 AM

    I just finished The Lost Letters Of Pergamum, which was for class, but well worth the read. I think this Summer I may re-read The Holographic Universe, and probably a book on natural pharmacy.

  70. April 25, 2010 8:51 PM

    I love reading too, howevwer, I tend to get caught up with one author until I’ve read them all. A bit of a fantasy nut as I want to escape into a wonderous place….. reading does just that. When I finish a contemporary author I run to Charles Dickens. Harder to read but very rewarding. Your site has inspired me to do more with mine. Thanks

    Alan

  71. April 25, 2010 8:52 PM

    I love reading too, however, I tend to get caught up with one author until I’ve read them all. A bit of a fantasy nut, as I want to escape into a wonderous place….. reading does just that. When I finish a contemporary author I run to Charles Dickens. Harder to read but very rewarding. Your site has inspired me to do more with mine. Thanks

    Alan

  72. May 18, 2010 3:56 PM

    I found your site from the WordPress.com page which has several sites that are strong enough to make the page. Your site is wonderful and beautiful.
    Thanks.

  73. tabitha permalink
    January 28, 2011 10:44 AM

    I actually have to stay in college every summer for financial aid, but let me tell you there is nothing better than a Library with 80% less people shoved into it=D Though, I will admit, I part of me is just waiting for a stranger to strike up a conversation about something I’m reading (guess I’m a romantic).
    All hail Book!

    • January 28, 2011 2:01 PM

      Oh I can imagine the libraries would be ten times nicer! And yes, the stranger-asking-about-books fantasy is one I have pretty often. The closest I’ve gotten though is someone asking about my Kindle! :)

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Reading Is Sexy « In Limbo -- Topsy.com
  2. In Limbo 2010 « In Limbo
  3. Crazy About Kindle! « In Limbo

Leave a Reply

