Skip to content

Magical

April 9, 2010

Oy vey! I have had the most wonderful couple of days. It was my birthday on Wednesday! It was also drizzly and grey, but we still made the most of it. Before bed, I received multiple texts and a call from Omar: I was watching Ratatouille when he called and we had a sad few minutes talking about how we wished we were watching it together. I went on facebook right before bed and jokingly wrote on the nine other people’s walls that have the same birthday as me. And those are just the ones on facebook: I know like four other people who don’t have facebook. Really, really strange. My theory? Our parents were celebrating Canada Day.

In the morning, I was awoken by friends. Adrienne had baked me blondies, Shoshy had bought me the PETA Vegan College Cookbook (so excited to try some recipes!), and there were smiling faces everywhere. We went to Biology, because why not. I realized I had only five dollars left on my meal plan – since fixed, thanks Mom! After bio, we got some lunchie, and then went to the Redpath Museum, our on-campus museum!! (I’m such a nerd and I love it so much)

It was amazing! I’m only going to allow myself to post one picture of it, otherwise I will go crazy and post the 100+ that I took. It was soo much fun. We have dinosaurs! And mummies! And various other stuffed animals. :) Ta-da!

First of all. That is a dinosaur. ZOMG. Secondly, the ceiling? It’s a gorgeous shade of aqua, there is so much natural light and such alive-looking taxidermy I was for real scared when I petted the lion that is not supposed to be petted. WHATEVER, it was my birfday, I’m allowed. We spent some time there, looking at the different exhibits. It’s not a huge museum, but it is still very interesting. I loved.

Then we wandered down off campus to St Cats, and popped into the Cathedral on the corner, because I’d never seen the inside. I adore churches. It was very pretty, but I didn’t take any pictures. We stopped in at Indigo and ogled all the pretty things, got Starbs, popped into another bookstore and I got Fast Food Nation, by Eric Schlosser, which is really interesting so far. Then calculus class. Spent the rest of the night vegging, finishing Ratatouille, getting a few groceries and opening two bottles of wonderful French champagne courtesy of my friend Lea who has the same birthday as I. Woot woot! It was sad to not have my family around, but they sent cards and cupcakes. :)

Then yesterday we celebrated! After a day of school and an extra long biology lab (??) we got all showered/changed/ready and a big group of my friends came out to a recommended veggie restaurant for my birthday dinner!

It’s called Le Commensal, and it’s a cute little buffet on the second floor of a building overlooking the street and conveniently right next door to Ben and Jerry’s. It was delicious! I got way too much food, but how do you say no to so many yummy things?? You don’t. Notable were the guacamole, spring rolls, vegetables au gratin, couscous, quesadillas and sautéed mushrooms. It was so lovely to spend time with so many lovely people and eat delicious food. Of course we capped the meal with ice cream: chocolate/brownie for me. Om nom! :) Then back to rez for an hour of relaxation before Shipwrecked, the rez council party.

It was beach themed, so we wore bathing suits + some clothes, and flipflops even though it was pretty rainy and chilly. Luckily, the ticket came with free coat check and a free drink, so I wore my unfashionable rain jacket. Thumbs up. It was a pretty cool club, they put tiny styrofoam balls all over the floor, which felt like sand. It was cool :).  I vaguely remember a fire blower? It was a good night, we even stopped by McDonald’s on the way home (sooo convenient, thank you McDonalds!) My companions got Big Macs and I got a chocolate milkshake and fries. Sooo good.

Unfortunately, we were out so late that today was a disaster. I was ridiculously tired, but still went to the library, because I have so much studying to do! I didn’t really absorb that much, but I learned how to do the concept I was reviewing, and ended up being remarkably productive despite being so tired. I think I’ll take it easy tonight, early bedtime and get down to it in good health tomorrow. So nervous for exams! So much work to do! Luckily, I had so much fun the last couple days. Thanks everyone for making my day so special. :)

xoxo, S.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

