Skip to content

Audreys!

April 6, 2010

Okay kids, it’s time for a movie report. If it is not yet obvious to y’all, I haven’t left my room in a couple days, ergo I haven’t really gotten dressed, and certainly have not taken any photos! Not very glamorous, I know. Fortunately, I have been obtaining glamour-osity (?) by way of stylish movies and such. Since I’ve seen two movies this weekend, both starring a lovely, gorgeous and talented ‘Audrey’, I’d like to share them with you. And I’ll throw in another of their older movies for kicks.

Audrey Tatou

I love her! She’s gorgeous, sophisticated and very talented. She also has exquisite bone structure. Here are two of her movies I loved:

#1. Coco Avant Chanel

Apart from a brief bout with the stomach flu last night while watching it (I assure you, nothing to do with the acting) I thoroughly enjoyed the movie. The fashion alone was amazing! It really makes you remember how beautiful and classic Chanel clothes really are. You see a young Coco working away on her hats and dresses with a cigarette hanging out of her mouth, wearing a perfectly crisp and blindingly white men’s tuxedo shirt or a nautically blue and white striped sweater. It was so interesting to learn more about that amazing woman: coming up from nothing to completely revolutionize the fashion world. It’s fascinating, all of the chances that come together to give her the future she wants, but you also get the feeling that she would have gotten there, even without anyone’s help. Coco Chanel is fiesty, smart and driven. You also learn more about her pain. I think Audrey Tatou did a really top notch job, portraying the character in such a way that I really feel like I have a good idea of what Chanel would have been like.

#2. Le Fabuleux Destin D’Amélie Poulain

Ooh I am practically squealing in delight, like an adorable piggie. I ADORE this movie. It is just so cute and warm and fuzzy! Amélie Poulain is an amazing character, just adorable in all of the things that she says and does. The story centers around her & all the people that she knows. They each get their own little side story about how Amélie has touched their lives. Mostly, though, it’s about love for other people, and sweetness. It’s French, and a bit of a dive into the mythical, but not really even in an unbelievable way. You love Amélie so much that you start to believe that her world really is a little bit magical. It’s a great movie, so pretty and well-done. Plus, her cute pixie haircut makes her look like a little elf. Yay!

Audrey Hepburn

Such a classic woman, but she never will get old for me. Honestly, as cheesy as some of her movies may well be, she can do no wrong in my eyes. She’s ridiculously elegant, beautiful, graceful. She was stylish and ugh. She’s definitely a girl crush. Along with Zooey Deschanel and Lady Gaga. :)

#1. Funny Face

She wore clothes designed exclusively by Givenchy. He wore impeccably tailored suits and a trenchcoat with a red silk plaid lining to die for. There are Louis Vuitton suitcases and pretty hats and so much glamour everywhere! I just saw this tonight for the first time and loved it. It’s basically The Devil Wears Prada, but Miranda Priestley is nicer. Weird, bookish girl gets hooked into big fashion magazine, befriends creative, nice guy who doesn’t really fit with that crowd as much. Has a makeover! Becomes glamourous! Takes a trip to Paris! Wears beautiful clothes! Reconciles with her loved one! The end. Classic story. Beware: it is a musical, I didn’t know. I mean I love musicals, but I just wasn’t aware. Audrey Hepburn is so damn glam! Jeez.

#2. My Fair Lady

Ahh! Definitely an all-time favourite. Obviously, I also love Breakfast at Tiffany’s, Sabrina, Roman Holiday and most recently Charade, but this one tops my list for its quintessential Audrey Hepburn-ness. It’s such an amazing movie, such an amazing role. She’s hilarious! I literally do her accent obnoxiously loudly over and over every time I watch it, until my mom yells at me (which doesn’t take very long). She’s a poor little flower girl who knows nothing about culture of any kind, and who gets taken on as a project by a wealthy gentleman. He vows to transform her so much that high society believes she is a princess. He succeeds, but not easily. It’s a very funny musical, and I love it to pieces.

Yawn, I’m tired now. Time for bedtimes. I can’t believe that I turn 19 in two days! It’s ridiculous. Well, one I guess now. It’s funny though, I’m the least excited person to turn 19, I know so many people who live in cities where they’re not legal, so for them it’s a big deal, but not for me haha. I guess it’ll be nice this summer, but the novelty has worn off now. Anyways, it’ll still be fun to be 19! I can’t believe I’m so old, I’m almost twenty? What the heck! Crazy.

Okay, off to bed.

xoxo, S. :)

One Comment leave one →
  1. Isabelle permalink
    April 13, 2010 7:01 PM

    Funny Face is definitely my favourite Audrey movie. I saw Coco Avant Chanel a while back and it was so good! The part where her lover dies is devastating… I didn’t like that part. But other than that it was good :)

Leave a Reply

