Skip to content

Fix It and Forget It

March 23, 2010

Oh, I’ve missed you bloggy! :( We had some sad times this week, including separation and a brief stint where I flirted with Typepad (dude, never sign up for one, there’s no way to delete your account..), but ultimately you know where my heart always was.

This is going to be a mishmash post, full of all the things I’m loving currently.

1. Sea of Shoes. It’s a fashion blog written by a girl from Texas, Jane Aldridge.  But I can never hear what she’s saying through the screaming of the gorgeous shoes, clothes, restaurants and photos that call to me, loudly. It’s gorgeous, and she has such a charmed life. It seems that she is always travelling, eating, buying awesome things and taking photos of them. She was invited to the cotillion ball in Paris, and Chanel Haute Couture made her a gown for it! Ridiculously awesome. She’s even gotten shout outs from Vogue and Kanye, so check her out!

2. The Kind Diet. A book, written by Alicia Silverstone. Since her Clueless days, she’s become a huge champion for a vegan diet, and in her book she outlines three stages of vegetarianism: flirtation with veganism, going vegan, and becoming a superhero. It’s a very interesting idea, she talks about how ‘becoming a superhero’ includes cutting out processed sugars and fats, and eating a lot of really whole foods; and credits this food for making her healthier, having more energy, better skin, etc. It’s not really hard to believe. Something that also appealed to me is when she said that she is a food snob, and doesn’t force herself to eat things that don’t taste good, so it gives me hope that there’s delicious food out there, for vegans. I can’t wait to get down to the bookstore and check out the book.

3. Evernote. Please, go sign up for it. Seriously. Just sign up and use it, it’s so awesome. In case you don’t know, it’s a syncing software that will, among other things, allow you to get rid of scrap paper, take pictures of things to remember, keep track of websites and recipes and wishlists, and sync all together through the browser, your phone and your computer. You can access your account from any of the portals, and everything is synced to everything else. For the past couple days, when I’ve been patrollin’ the foodie blogs hard (another new obsession), I’ve used it to save all kinds of recipes (with pictures) in a really easy way. Yay!

4. Foodie Blogs. I have been on them almost constantly (see above), and I cannot get enough. I’m not even cooking for myself yet! But I still have a few favourites, and welcoming suggestions (send them over!). Some of my favourites: there’s The Manhattan Food Project, a newlywed couple that cook, and eat, a lot. They’re not vegetarians, but make a lot of veggie food, and then they have recipes for you carnivorous types. I also adore OMGSEXYFOOD. It’s not really a recipe site, but it can give you some awesome ideas, or you can just spend time ogling the delicious looking treats. The Bitten Word (a couple who are trying to make good use of their foodie magazines), Herbivoracious (veg foodie blog), Cook To Bang (food to get you laid, with hilarious titles), Tastespotting (collects lots of foodie blog entries from all over the web and mashes them together in a pretty way), Cannelle et Vanille (such gorgeous photos), I could go on for ever!! Check those out though, omnomnomnomnomnomnom.

My poor sad life. After looking at all those pictures, I had to eat a peanut butter granola bar. Good, but nothing compared to hot, freshly sugared donuts.

I’ll post again later tonight to fill you in on my news in fashion (omg, adorable coat), friends (love) and food (wish I was cooking for myself!).

xoxo, S.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2011 8:52 PM

    Hi! Thanks so much for the shoutout–while we are not vegetarian, my husband is always looking for creative ways to get me to eat more vegetables, and we try to veer on the “meat light” end of the spectrum during the week.

    • January 2, 2011 11:38 PM

      Not a problem, your blog rocks! And I can always get on board with the ‘more veggies’ advice! :)

Trackbacks

  1. Top 10 Free Mac Apps for New Mac Owners « In Limbo
  2. Joy of Cooking « In Limbo

Leave a Reply

