Skip to content

Rainy Sunday

March 14, 2010

Wearing American Eagle jeans, Dad’s Ralph Lauren oxford, headband by Primark, reading Eating Animals by Jonathan Safran Foer

After an exhausting day (mentally), I have given myself the night off! I am going to continue reading my wonderful and enlightening book, and then watch an Audrey Hepburn movie, go to my floor’s weekly tea and freshly baked cookies event, and get my beauty rest early. I don’t want this silly loss of an hour to impair my whole week. Last week, I felt too tired every single day and it just wasn’t pleasant. I have a busy week ahead, and I don’t want anything to interfere with my productivity!

One of my best friends is coming to visit me on Thursday. I am so excited. :) I am planning a few special events, I’ll let you in on a couple of them. Remember that karaoke bar that served green tea ice cream and alcohol, had a dance floor, x-box and an arcade? Well let’s just say we’re going round 2. Lots of shopping on St. Cats, brunch near Concordia, exploration of the Plateau, the student bar on a Thursday night. Actually we may not even get to the karaoke place, considering that there are two really cool events going on Friday night, one at residence and one at a rented-out club. There are going to have to be some serious decisions made, but none of them bad! Laura, I hope you’re getting yourself worked up for this. The last time you came, I knew nothing about the city, but now I know a little more.

Okay my beloveds, I want to make a quick shout-out to my mummy, who I miss like crazy. Today is just our sort of day, the type for curling up and reading, cooking comfort food and playing with the animals while watching an old movie. Today I’ve also been thinking a lot about my daddy, I’m excited for our potential upcoming road trip home from school at the end of the year. He always  patiently listens to all of my foolish university-student-radical opinions and lets me be aggressive about them. He’s the best man in my life and such a huge softy. I am really looking forward to the time I’ll have this summer to spend with my parents and sisters, and other friends. Even though I’ve made so many amazing friends here, I don’t see my relationships with any of my other friends from home going anywhere. We’re too close to get pushed apart. I love all of you, every single one. I am so glad we’ve devised a way to keep in touch, and I miss you like crazy.

Alrighty, time to go read while listening to a Genius playlist based on In The Sun by Joseph Arthur. It is the most deliciously mellow playlist, featuring Sufjan Stevens, Citizen Cope and the like. Enjoy your Sunday nights all.

xoxo, Steph

One Comment leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    March 15, 2010 1:43 PM

    I’M SO EXCITED! Montreal is such an awesome city, we’re gonna have a lot of fun :). Hopefully it won’t rain all weekend this time! I will come prepared with rubber boots and an umbrella just in case. I’m so excited for shopping…especially since you actually have H&M and Forever 21. Ottawa is seriously lacking in those stores. Next time you visit me in Ottawa, we’ll actually leave campus now that I know my city better too.

Leave a Reply

