Skip to content

Sunshine, Lollipops and Rainbows

March 13, 2010

Good morning! Well, good afternoon, but since I only woke up about an hour and a half ago, it feels like my day’s just beginning. I’ll post again this evening because I’m getting bloggy-restless, but for now let me just post quickly on my new favourite thing evaahhh.

Telephone by Lady Gaga ft. Beyoncé.

Let me tell you what I love and hate about this video. I feel some sort of strong need to defend it, because a) I adore Lady Gaga and everything she touches, basically, b) I love the video (mostly) and c) lots of people hate it. I’m not trying to change their minds (okay, I am) I just feel like supporting the video!

What I love:

  1. The font of the opening titles
  2. Lady Gaga’s pre-prison prison-like clothes
  3. The way Gaga hands her sunglasses to the prison guard and the guard takes them, proving Gaga is hot shit and in control of this situation..
  4. Her x’d out nipples, and the dick comment
  5. Her chained outfit when she’s in the yard
  6. Her awesome dance after hanging up on Beyoncé that looks more like boxing
  7. Her shade of lipstick
  8. The pop cans in her hair!
  9. Studded-underpants dance
  10. Omg. I love the caution tape outfit.
  11. Her yellow-tipped hair & outfit
  12. BEYONCE’S TOTAL FIERCENESS
  13. ‘Mmhmm Honey B’
  14. The Pussy Wagon
  15. The sound the leather makes as she takes off her glasses
  16. Let’s Make a Sandwich dance
  17. All-American Dance
  18. Most all of the incredible clothes
  19. Beyoncé’s funny spaz sequence
  20. Beyoncé’s black lipstick
  21. The awesome subtitles
  22. Beyoncé’s yellow dress

What I hate:

  1. Lady Gaga in animal print unitard…
  2. Beyoncé’s bangs. I’m sorry, I can’t do it. I don’t like them.
  3. So much product placement! Distracting..
  4. The lit-cigarette sunglasses. I mean, they’re creative and make a statement, but strange. I’m surprised they didn’t burn the girl kissing her.
  5. The girl-catfight. I hate watching girls fight.
  6. The security camera footage. I guess it added another extra aspect to the video, but I didn’t like it.
  7. The weird witchy costumes at the end. I can’t decide if I like them. I don’t think I do. :)

——-

Arghh all in all it’s an incredible video. It’s more than a music video, it’s more like performance art. I love Lady Gaga so much. This video tells a story replete with amazing costumes and dancing and awesomeness. I am so happy there’s a “To be continued” sign at the end. Let’s keep our fingers crossed for another amazing Beyoncé – Lady Gaga collaboration.

xoxo, Steph

Edit: check out this awesome, and not so superficial discussion of the video!

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 13, 2010 3:16 PM

    Hi, there-

    More observations and discussion of “Telephone”: http://onlywordstoplaywith.blogspot.com/2010/03/lady-gagas-telephone-observations-and.html

    We would love for you to stop by and add your thoughts to our discussion!

Leave a Reply

