Skip to content

The Academy Awards

March 8, 2010

As I type these words, I am tired, surprised and a little upset. I just finished watching the Oscars, typically my favourite awards show that is as entertaining as it is wonderful. Tonight though, I feel disappointed on a number of levels. Overall, I just thought the show was very bland this year! Nothing to write home about, which is a shame since there were so many talented nominees and so much potential for a wonderful night.

Firstly, I thought that the hosts; the talented Alec Baldwin and Steve Martin, were dull. They seemed hesitant (either by their own or the Academy’s restrictions) to push the envelope into really funny territory, and I felt that some of the risky jokes they did make were slightly off colour. Of course, that’s no excuse for the poor behaviour George Clooney showed at their mocking of him. Grow a pair, George! If you’re going to star in movies, you’re going to eventually get nominated, and when you do, you’re going to have to show up, and when you do, you’re going to have to withstand some light-hearted teasing by the hosts. So quit your sulking. Besides the fact that the hosts really didn’t make me laugh, there is also the question of: where were they?? They seldom spoke! They seemed very detached from the process, as I found a number of the presenters to be also. (I’m looking at you Kristen Stewart..)

There were some heartfelt moments; among which I thought were Sandra Bullock’s touching, eloquent and hilarious acceptance speech,  James Cameron’s smile when Kathryn Bigelow won for Best Director (ex-husband!), the rambling, touching and groovy speech by Jeff Bridges, Sigourney Weaver’s voice when announcing an award for Avatar, etc. I love it when the dressed-up folk do things they’re not supposed to, like ramble, or shout through the theatre, or pull Kanye West moments on other actors (did anyone else shit bricks when that lady went up to interrupt the man giving a speech!).

And then there was just the theme of it all. Oh wait, no there wasn’t. There was no theme.  Comparing this show to last year’s, with Hugh Jackman, I’d like to point out a couple of things. 1. Hugh Jackman was funny, polite and enthusiastic about the show. He sang, he danced, he was present. This year’s hosts were not as much. 2. Last year’s Oscar’s had a theme! Does anyone remember? It was a behind-the-scenes look at the movies, with cool features like in-depth looks at what a cinematographer, sound editor and costume designer does, and a choir that made sound effects, for example. It was fun, and entertaining.

The last thing I want to comment on is the Best Picture winner. I will be brief. I will say only this: it is my belief that the best picture should be one that has revolutionized the industry, done something fearless and new and remarkable. Something that will change the way that the world views film. I will not be too critical, since I haven’t seen the Hurt Locker, but I will say that I believe that James Cameron’s fearlessness, creativity, vision, drive and dedication deserve to be honoured, they are worthy of an Academy Award. He did something completely different. He used brand new technology to create a film experience unlike any that has ever been experienced by viewers worldwide. And that is something that I doubt that the Hurt Locker has done. When we look back on films that have changed the path of cinema, it will be films like Avatar that stand out.

…Of course, no matter what I will always love the Oscars. Only this year, I felt they  could have used a little more salt, they were too bland. To me, it felt like most people were just going through the motions, there was not very much excitement. Better luck next year guys, I’ll be watching. :)

xoxo, Steph

ps. As usual, tonight I will fall asleep reciting my Academy Award acceptance speech, like I do every single year after the show.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

