Skip to content

Rules of Attraction

February 16, 2010

Ugh I totally don’t get this whole “getting to know you” thing. I’m seemingly terrible at knowing the rules. How does this work? Really now. I’m starting to worry that I maxed out my ‘getting the boys’ skillz in high school, and now am fated to wander for all eternity trying to remember how I ever did it in the first place. I DON’T REMEMBER! And I don’t know why I’m so goshdarn awkward about it, but I totally am. It’s like this, I know the stages:

1. Meet the person (may or may not come after Step 0: notice the person and become intrigued. I almost always go through Step 0)

2. Getting to know you time (aka mysterious grey area)

3. Exchange of phone numbers

4. Excessive communications

5. Fiesta!

Okay so yeah, theoretically I understand the process. But then you have Step 2 which is the most complicated thing ever!  Do you write on their wall? Facebook chat? Hope you’ll run into them and then barely muster up a ‘Hi’ before running away like a little girl. Lame. But how do you even know if he’s interested in you? People tell me that you don’t, and that you have to show that you’re interested first! That’s super scary! What if he’s not?!?

I literally feel like a preschooler. If someone could kindly instruct why I am overthinking this so much, that would be incredibly useful to me. I just can’t seem to stop.

Note to self: please chill out.

BLARGH.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Haitian permalink
    February 16, 2010 3:40 AM

    Don’t forget the #1 rule, don’t worry and dwell on the little nuances and just go for it. All it ever takes is some kind banter and a seemingly ‘open’ time schedule :P.

    The scariest part is never all that scary in hindsight.

  2. Laura permalink
    March 1, 2010 12:16 AM

    I THINK HE’S GAY. UGHHHH.

Leave a Reply

