Skip to content

Just Like That

February 15, 2010

It happened.

Wow. Sitting here in the lobby of Leacock building, and just like that I switched over from being a newbie at McGill to a second year student. If you ever ask me when it happened for me, it’s today, February 15th, 2010. Yeah, I know I’m not officially a second-year yet but my attitude has been modified. I don’t feel like the young, green, stupid, new freshman that I have been feeling like for the bulk of the year. And that’s because it’s Prospective Student Tours day here. And me and Apoorva are sitting here listening to the tours, looking at the students, correcting the tour guide’s mistakes quietly (not everyone is in Arts, yo) and realizing that we know so much more than we thought we did. We made it! We survived! We got through the bulk of our first year (relatively) unscathed and no matter what, we’ve done okay for ourselves.

I’m so proud to be a McGillian, and I know that I made the right choice. I couldn’t imagine going anywhere else, it wouldn’t be the same challenge for me, it wouldn’t give me something to live up to.  I don’t mean for that to sound pretentious, I’m just referring to the hoards of amazing people who have graduated from McGill and gone on to win countless Oscars, Nobel Prizes, Olympic medals, awards in their fields. There’s research going on here that would blow my mind, and it’s everywhere. It infiltrates the hospitals of Montreal in such a way that research is prized above all else, in such a way that exists in very few other places in Canada. I follow McGillU on Twitter and everyday I get updates of amazing things going on at my university. That’s what I mean about having to live up to the school. I’m proud and happy to go here.

Montreal is gorgeous, cultured, everything you need is so close by, it’s French, it has McGill. It’s close to my best friends in Ottawa. It has multiple hospitals and opportunities. It has a few tunnels for those cold, cold days. I’m in love with my school, and I’m honoured to be a part of it. Thank goodness I chose this school. It was so far out of my comfort zone and scared me so much, but I wouldn’t have been happy anywhere else.

That is not to say that other schools in the country are not also incredible. They certainly are. The caliber of research at Queen’s (and it’s gorgeous city and buildings) almost drew me in, Dalhousie would have been better for asking questions (it’s student-teacher ratio is the best in the country), McMaster has innovative and incredible programs, Guleph is in a great town with great people and lots of science, Carleton houses some of the greatest people I know (and one of the worst) and has the best journalism program in the country. But McGill, for me, is number one. I can’t imagine myself anywhere else.

What do you love about your school?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    March 1, 2010 12:36 AM

    What I love about Carleton:

    The tunnels, of course! I can stay warm and dry.

    Even though it’s not a huge campus, there’s always something new to discover. For example, I just found out we have a greenhouse, that’s kept nice and warm all the time and open to the public every day.

    There’s always events going on around campus, such as Res Idol, speeches by visiting politicians, plays and pub nights at the campus bar. There’s also a variety of protests at the Hill to participate in.

    When we need to go shopping downtown…we can walk across the street to the Rideau Canal and skate there!

    If you go to the student cafe at 2am, you can eat delicious poutine and laugh at the many drunk people doing ridiculous things.

    It’s only two hours and 50 bucks away from my best friend :)

  2. effieboo permalink
    March 1, 2010 10:07 AM

    :) I love you

Leave a Reply

