Skip to content

Learning

February 12, 2010
tags:

Okay so in spite of the amount of learning I supposedly do at school (which I always find myself questioning – why isn’t it all fitting together yet!?) I love to learn on the side. I’m definitely just a learner, and I’ll spend my whole life this way, I know it. I’m constantly making resolutions to learn new things. I stumbled across a list the other day which is amazing to me, and full of awesome ideas. I almost don’t want to share it because for some reason I feel it is akin to finding my own personal pot of gold at the end of the rainbow. Here’s the link: 120 Ways to Boost Your Brain Power. So many awesome things to think about. Here’s what I’ve been up to lately in terms of side projects.

1. Writing with my left hand. For the past couple days I’ve been practicing my left-handed writing. The idea appeals to me so much, to be able to pick up any writing instrument in either hand and just write without thinking. I mean, think about it. You were given two hands and a remarkable brain that can learn just about any complex motor movement you teach it. So why not make use of both of your hands? I know my body is capable of learning, it will just take time and practice. And there has definitely been improvement! Just small improvements, but even so. I’m going to keep on keeping on! The only downside: I’m starting to think that this major knot in my back is because of the tense holding of my pen and forcing out letters. Oopsies.

2. Re-discovering the piano. As anyone who really knows me knows, I’ve been playing for as long as I can remember. You would also know that since I’ve been at university I’ve played very little. Today though, when I got home, I walked down to the practice room and threw down a few scales and whatever tidbits of pieces I could remember (don’t have much memorized). Then I came back to my room and downloaded sheet music! I’m going to try and fit it into my routine every once and a while, I miss playing.

3. Spanish. I can’t help it! I’m obsessed with the idea of speaking Spanish, I love the language. Before Christmas break, me and Shosh listened to Coffee Break Espagnol podcasts on iTunes, and watched Spanish soap operas. It was fun and I miss it. On a similar note, I need to start using my French before I lose some of it.

Is there anything you’ve been dying to learn? There’s no time like the present, and I doubt anyone can pick up too many random skills! I say start learning and never stop.

xoxo Steph

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Haitian permalink
    February 12, 2010 3:19 PM

    I have the entire Charlie Brown Christmas album on sheet music, if you’re ever in the mood for it :P. also #43 (of the link), play video games, I couldn’t agree more.

  2. Laura permalink
    March 1, 2010 12:21 AM

    Is it really possible to teach yourself how to write using your left hand? I would love to learn Spanish too, I just found out about an exchange program in Valencia, Spain. It’s an absolutely gorgeous city on the Mediterranean sea. I spent a good hour wandering around the streets on Google Street View. The only problem is, the university only offers classes in Spanish.

Leave a Reply

