Skip to content

I Had Diamonds on My Mouth..

January 6, 2010

I had a dream last night. It was a terrible, terrible dream.

It went a little something like this. I was at a high school/university reunion of some kind (but, as dreams go of course I was the same age as I am now) and kept running into people I knew, some I liked, some I moved to Montreal to get away from. And can I just say? The jerks were still jerks, the hoes (excuse my French) were still hoes, and the friends were still friends. One such jerk, I actually ‘overheard’ talking to my ‘husband’ (???): “Well no, man, I mean your wife is cute, but she’s not THAT cute, you know? I mean the body needs work.”

OUCH. Hey subconscious? Fuck you. Worst way to wake up.

Among other notable incidents: I hugged my best guy friend as if I hadn’t seen him in years (let’s please not let this happen); I saw a girl, true to form, tormenting one of my friends; me and my ladies all got together for a group picture and were happy, and I was married to my other guy friend? SO confused by this.

Anyways, funny dreams aside, it just got me to wondering: are the people I hated in high school going to be the same type of people I hate for the rest of my life? How long will the pretense of ‘friendship’ hold up, before we start quietly deleting facebook friends and unfollowing people on twitter? How long until we stop pretending we mean something to one another?

I’m obviously not referring to my closest high school friends, who I hope to stay in contact with as long as possible. I’m just meditating on the fakeness that is our superficial contact with people who were barely acquaintances in high school. I follow lots of people on twitter who I could care less about what they’re doing, to be brutally honest, and I’m sure they feel identical about me. So why do we pretend?

Maybe it’s just me. Maybe I care too much about what others think, too much to delete, kamikaze-style, everyone I haven’t talked to since (or before) graduation from my facebook. But whatever. I guess I’m a coward like that.

..Plus then how would you facebook-stalk people to compare your current success to their (hopefully) non-success! I know, I know, I’m a jerk too. But you know you’re with me on that one.

love y’all.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

