Skip to content

Happy New Decade.

January 1, 2010

Welcome to the new year and the new decade. Now, I don’t claim to have any superhuman powers of premonition, but I definitely have a good feeling about this year. 2010. Olympics here in Canada, I’m starting a huge new chapter of my life and everything is going well. It’s scary, because I will continue to face new challenges: keeping in touch with old and new friends, moving in to a place of my own with friends, learning to cook, surviving my first Montréal winter, learning more about myself. I’m excited though, to conquer these things and undoubtably more. I read my year’s horoscope in the Globe and Mail today and it said that Aries have a critical year ahead, crucial for self-discovery and the like. I take this as a boost. :)

As for my New Year’s Resolutions – well, anyone who knows me knows that I keep resolutions lists taped to my walls and am constantly setting strange goals for myself. But that definitely doesn’t mean that I will exclude myself from making some for the New Year. And to all you cynics (one of my best friends), even though the New Year is completely arbitrary, I choose to ignore this and make resolutions anyways! There’s always time for self-improvement. :)

For you lazies, take the easy way out and look at a cool site that I got from my friend Claudia’s blog: the New Years Resolution Generator by Monina Velarde. It’s awesome to just click through and get inspiration on how to have a great year this year.

As for me, I am adding another project (tentatively) to my list, Project 365. I have a fotolog account set up for me to start using.. well, today I guess, but it hasn’t been activated. Basically the challenge is to take a picture every day for a year, trying to take good shots that are meaningful to you. I think it’ll help me improve as a photographer and hopefully stay connected with my family and friends over the year.

Here are a list of my New Years Resolutions:

1. Read something non-school-related every day.

2. Email someone daily.

3. Drink more water

4. Keep up Project 365

5. Update my blog more!

6. Learn how to speak Spanish passably

7. Take more chances

8. Make less excuses and just find the time

9. Write & create more

10. Be ME!

I’m sure I’ve stressed this a lot, but I really am a firm believer in self-evaluation. There are always ways to improve and I am constantly trying. And as long as you’re trying, that’s all that counts!

Go on, make some resolutions of your own!

xo, Steph.

Leave a Reply

